Trust in the Lord and Do Good

For the next few days I will be expounding on Psalm 37. This psalm is said to be a psalm of David. Psalm 37 provides a contrast between the wicked and those who follow the way of God. The expectations the wicked can expect are so different from the promises extended to the righteous:

Psalm 37: 1  Do not fret because of the wicked;

do not be envious of wrongdoers,

2    for they will soon fade like the grass,

and wither like the green herb.

3    Trust in the Lord, and do good;

so you will live in the land, and enjoy security.

4    Take delight in the Lord,

and he will give you the desires of your heart. [1]

David tells us that the wicked, “Will soon fade like the grass…” (vs. 2) The contrast is that those who “Trust in the Lord…will live in the land and enjoy security…” (Vs. 3)

Often, we do the very thing David says in verses one and two, we “Fret because of the wicked and are envious of wrongdoers.” Some people begin to doubt the providence and justice of God because some folk seem like they will never be punished for what they have done. I do not know if you will agree with me, but I have lived long enough to wonder why some people who clearly do wrong sometimes seem to get away with murder. Then, there are times when the bad guys and women are caught during their trouble and they are made to pay for the consequences of their actions. Case in point, we had a mayor in my city of Detroit, Michigan, who was elected in 2001, who seemed like he could get away with anything. However, in seven short years, he ended up convicted of public fraud and is now in the process of serving a 28-year prison sentence! As the Apostle Paul would say in Galatians 6: Do not be deceived; God is not mocked, for you reap whatever you sow. If you sow to your own flesh, you will reap corruption from the flesh; but if you sow to the Spirit, you will reap eternal life from the Spirit. So let us not grow weary in doing what is right, for we will reap at harvest time, if we do not give up. 10 So then, whenever we have an opportunity, let us work for the good of all, and especially for those of the family of faith. [2]

David was far ahead of his time. Hundreds of years before the era of Jesus and Paul, David felt it was imperative that people of faith, try to do good and to trust God. He understood the importance of connecting our faith to our actions. David was king, but he also was a man of deep faith. He wanted his faith in God to be lived out in how he treated others. Likewise, you and I should believe in God, trust God and try to do good to all people on all levels. If we try to live in such a manner, the Lord has promised to bless each of us for all of the days of our lives.

Psalm 37: 3  Trust in the Lord, and do good; so you will live in the land, and enjoy security. [3]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How difficult is it for you to trust in the Lord?
  2. What are the challenges to as David would say, “Do good”?
  3. How does trusting in the Lord and doing good provide a believer to “enjoy security”?

 

Prayer: My Lord and my God, grant me the courage to trust you and the presence of mind to do good, even when others are not nice to me. Increase my faith, that I might trust you in the most difficult of times and days. Enlarge my love, that I might be compelled to do good and love others. Lord, you are my rock and my salvation, in you I have put my trust. Sometimes the light is dim and the road is rocky. The fog can be so thick that I cannot see the way. Hold my hand and lead me to level ground. Contain my heart, that fear cannot rule. Bless me now and lead me safely home. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Karen Routt

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III are located at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 37:1–4). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ga 6:7–10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[3] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 37:3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.