Take Delight in the Lord and He Will Give You the Desires of Your Heart-

DSC_3654 internet version

A desire for personal empowerment in a world that is increasingly unsettled, seems to be a theme I have noticed in many that I speak with. On so many levels the modern individual is left to fend for themselves. I get a little uncomfortable when I settle in front of my laptop computer to purchase an airline or train ticket for me and my wife. When my mother in law comes to visit, she often asks me to purchase a bus ticket for her return to Ohio. Let me pause for a word about the bus ticket for my mother in law. I would rather that she drives to Detroit or let us pick her up, but the marketing for Greyhound has her number: Taking the bus gives her a sense of independence. She is not dependent upon anyone for her transportation to see Denise or me. Back to my discomfort at making travel arrangements. Not that long ago, the way a person made travel arrangements was to call the airline or bus company directly or a travel agent and they took responsibility for your travel reservation. Now, we are on our own. Travel agencies still exist, but they are not plentiful. If the airline, bus, train or boat ticket is messed up, the company takes no responsibility, because it was you, the individual who made the reservation, and you are on your own!  In a similar way, it used to be that many corporations and governments would provide a defined benefit pension for their employees. Now, the employee is often on their own and must take responsibility for some sort of defined contribution to pay for their own pension.

Let me share with you where I am going with this thought about personal responsibility. It all boils down to personal empowerment. I believe one of the key elements of human life is to have a sense of self-sufficiency. To be self-sufficient gives a person a sense of power over their own destiny.

David the author of Psalm 37 writes that when a person takes, “Delight in the Lord,” God will provide, “The desires of your heart.” I know someone reading this is asking, “How can I obtain the desires of my heart when I have prayed, hoped and wished for something and it just did not happen?” My response is that we take another look at what David is saying. When a person “Delights in the Lord,” it means that their focus is on trying to live a life that is consistent with the teachings of Jesus. It means that our joy comes from believing the word of God, hoping in the word of God, and living a life that is guided by the word and promises of God. When this happens, a change begins to come over our lives. We think differently. We look at our personal relationships differently. We attempt to solve our problems in a different manner. We act different. Ultimately, when we take delight in the Lord we will find that God provides for us the desires of the heart.

Psalm 37: 4  Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it mean to, “Take Delight in the Lord”?
  2. Are there any limits to, “The desires of the heart”?

 

Prayer: Lord, I seek delight in your word, your power and your love. I trust in your providence. I rely in your promises. I relax in your protection. Your mercy is magnificent, like the eastern sunrise on a mountain in the morning. Your grace is goodness in real time. Your love is everlasting in this life and the life to come. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Deacon Michael Daniels

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III can be found at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 37:4). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.