Thanksgiving Day Family and Personal Conversation on Thanks

DSC_0350

The following is a conversation starter for Thanksgiving Day.  It can be used before, during or after the Thanksgiving meal.  I encourage you to invite your table guests to read the following scripture from Psalm 9.  Next, ask your guests to reflect upon the questions I have included.  Feel free and welcome to add additional questions for discussion.  I have included a prayer to concluded the table conversation.  May the Lord continue to bless you and your family this Thanksgiving.

Psalm 9

God’s Power and Justice

To the leader: according to Muth-labben. A Psalm of David.

1    I will give thanks to the Lord with my whole heart;

I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.

2    I will be glad and exult in you;

I will sing praise to your name, O Most High. [1]

 

Conversation Starter for Thanksgiving Day

  1. Thanksgiving Day is a day that many give pause to reflect upon those things that they are thankful for. What are some of those things you thankful for?
  2. In Psalm 9, David says that, “I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.” What are the “Wonderful deeds” you feel the Lord has or is doing in your life?
  3. What are you prepared to do differently in your life because of your gratitude to God?

Prayer:  Lord, I give you thanks for so many things.  I thank you for the life you have given me.  I give you thanks for family.  I thank you for friends.  I thank you for my health.  I thank you for the shelter I call home.  I thank you for the challenges of life.  I thank you for every opportunity.  Bless the food on this table.  Bless the hands that have prepared it and those who will share it.  Make me mindful of the poor and help me to find ways to feed the hungry, satisfy the thirst of the thirsty, and to work to make peace and prosperity throughout the world.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III of Steve and Dr. Monique Butler

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III can be found at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 9). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.