The Leper’s Thanks-


With the approach of Thanksgiving only a few days away, I have done a quick, but not exhaustive search of some of the times in the Bible when the Lord did something great for people of faith, but there is no record of them saying thank you. In the Book of Daniel, neither Daniel coming out of the Lions Den or the three Hebrew young men who were thrown into the fiery furnace are recorded as saying thank you for their deliverance. In Genesis 21, Hagar and her young son, Ishmael are put out from the house of Sarah and Abraham, they almost die from thirst, eventually the Lord delivers them, but they are not recorded as saying thank you.

One story that has a different ending is the story of the ten Lepers that are healed by Jesus. Ten are healed. One turns around praising God for his health. Jesus told the ten lepers to show themselves to the priests. Even before they arrive at the doorstep of the priests, the lepers can feel and see the healing taking place. When the one turns around to say thank you, Jesus blesses him and raises a question about the other nine who did not come back to say thank you.

This Thanksgiving, I encourage you to take a few moments and thank the good Lord for every blessing you have received over the course of your life.

Luke 17: 11 On the way to Jerusalem Jesus was going through the region between Samaria and Galilee. 12 As he entered a village, ten lepers approached him. Keeping their distance, 13 they called out, saying, “Jesus, Master, have mercy on us!” 14 When he saw them, he said to them, “Go and show yourselves to the priests.” And as they went, they were made clean. 15 Then one of them, when he saw that he was healed, turned back, praising God with a loud voice. 16 He prostrated himself at Jesus’ feet and thanked him. And he was a Samaritan. 17 Then Jesus asked, “Were not ten made clean? But the other nine, where are they? 18 Was none of them found to return and give praise to God except this foreigner?” 19 Then he said to him, “Get up and go on your way; your faith has made you well.” [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. When are some of the times when you have been most thankful?
  2. Why do the nine lepers in the scripture not turn back to praise the Lord and thank Jesus?

 

Prayer: Lord, I take pause to thank you. I thank you for my health. I thank you for life. For my friends and special relationships, I give you thanks. The mind you have provided me has shown me visions of opportunity, prosperity and faith in you. For every day of life, I give you thanks. For hope and love, I say thank you. For strength and endurance, in the face of the storms of life, I give you thanks. For inner peace and the serenity of the Holy Spirit, I give you thanks. Speak clearly and come quickly, Lord Jesus. I give you thanks. I bless your Holy name. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III – Photo of “Blended Voices” singing praises to God at the Plymouth United Church of Christ, Detroit

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 17:11–19). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.