dsc_7038
Former Detroit Lions helped to give out turkeys at  my church today – I am in the yellow jacket, Allen Hughes is next tto me, #98, Lomas Brown in black… the other names I will have to locate.  photo by Mike Daniels

 

 

I Was Hungry and You Gave Me a Turkey

From the parking lot of my church, 300 turkeys were given away this morning. Every year we give away turkeys before Thanksgiving, but this year was different. The day before, we donated 170 turkeys to the residents of the Medical Center Courts Apartments. The Medical Center Courts Apartments was developed by my father and members of the Plymouth United Church of Christ in Detroit, Michigan, USA. What made today’s turkey distribution different was the addition of several former Detroit Lions. The Detroit Lions is the National Football League franchise in the city. The former Detroit Lions personally helped to pack and distribute the turkeys and other stuff to the people who lined up in the chilly morning breeze for food.

dsc_7021

At the beginning, a few persons asked me if it would be better if we lined people up in the cold and made them sign up to make sure essentially that they were who they said they were. I replied that I preferred to allow people to warm up in the church and we would line persons up shortly before the distribution would begin. Everything went so smoothly; we had given out all of the food within a half-hour.  I had a feeling we would have a big crowd for the turkeys becasue my brother, Steve, interviewed Allen and me on his radio show on 910 AM the day before.

dsc_7010

As we gave out the turkeys, I thought of what Jesus had to say about feeding the hungry. Today was a win-win type of event. The church “Won” because the feeding program was exactly in line with what Jesus said about feeding the hungry. The former Detroit Lions seemed happy to be in the mix. They helped people stuff their bags. Those in line seemed happy because they received a turkey. It was a “Triple Winn” for the Lord. The people who received the turkeys were pleased, but it seemed like the former football players and the staff people of the Olympia Group which co-sponsored the event were at least as pleased as those who received a turkey – for in giving, we actually receive!

dsc_7034

Matthew 25: 35 for I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me[1]

Questions for Reflection:

    1. Why do you think Jesus commands his followers to feed the hungry?
  • What is the right attitude that a believer should have in responding to the needs of the poor?

 

 

Prayer: Lord, fill my heart with a spirit of compassion and love upon the poor. Teach me to share what I have with those who are less fortunate. Lord, show me how to live my life in total service to you. Teach me to give without thought of return.  Teach me to love without expectation of anything other than knowing that I have done what you desired that I should do. Bless me to feed the hungry, give drink to the thirsty and love for all your children. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mt 25:35). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.