Everybody Needs Somebody to Love

Riding back from the gym early this morning, I was fascinated by an old Wilson Pickett song, sung originally by Solomon Burke, “Everybody needs Somebody to Love.” This powerful love song talks about that most basic of our human desires, love. Check out the words:

Everybody needs somebody Everybody needs somebody to love Someone to love, sugar, to kiss, sweetheart, to miss And I need (you you you) and I need (you you you) In the mornin’, baby (you you you) When the sun goes down and nobody else around Ah sometimes I’m filled, filled with sadness My baby mistreat me, I never never have a-mine I need (you you you), someone to see me through To hold my hand, try to make me understand I need you, don’t you know I need you? I need you in the mornin’, I need you Don’t you know I need you Let me hear you say yeah! Let me hear you say yeah! (I need you)

Listening to the words, I began to think about how fortunate I am to have a wife and children who love me. Then, I began to think of all the lonely people who just wished they had someone to love. My thoughts cascaded over to those who are bitter in love, lost in love, and hurt in love. I do not know what an animal can feel. Perhaps the animals thirst and search for love like humans, or perhaps their quest is not so much for love, but like human beings, desire for the physical touch and excitement that another person might offer.

The Apostle Paul has a beautiful statement in Romans 12 about how to develop a wholesome attitude in love. Listen to what Paul has to say:

Romans 12: 10 love one another with mutual affection; outdo one another in showing honor. 11 Do not lag in zeal, be ardent in spirit, serve the Lord. 12 Rejoice in hope, be patient in suffering, persevere in prayer. 13 Contribute to the needs of the saints; extend hospitality to strangers. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it mean to love another person?
  2. Can you love someone you do not like? How?
  3. What are your thoughts on the words of Paul regarding love in Romans 12?

 

Prayer: Lord, grant me someone to love. Lord, I thirst for your love. Lord, I am hungry for love. Lord, help me with my inhibitions. Lord, help me with my pride. Sometimes my self-centeredness prevents me from giving and receiving love. Make me your instrument. Make me your voice. Save me from people who deceive, deny and disable. Grant me courage and faith to share my life with the poor, the tired and the hungry. Lord, save me from my loneliness. Lord, teach me to reach out in love to those who are lost, lonely and lamenting the life they live. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Deacon Clinton Griffin at 1st Community Baptist Church 

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 12:10–13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.