From the Rising of the Sun

There is a lake, Lake Sinclair, that flows from Lake Huron into the Detroit River. A few days ago, one morning as I caught a little exercise by walking along the lake, I noticed the last traces of the moon rising as the sun made its entrance to the dawn of a new day. Watching the new day arrive like the scroll of a curtain covering the window of life, I thought about the beautiful words praising the handiwork of God in Psalm 113:

Psalm 113: 3 From the rising of the sun to its setting the name of the Lord is to be praised. [1]

When I returned home, I looked up all the words in Psalm 113. David gives praise to the Lord for the creation of the world, transformation of the poor and the blessing of women. There are so many reasons why I praise the Lord. Every time I walk an extended distance, it might be from the parking lot of a hospital to the room of a patient, I praise the Lord! I praise the Lord for the ability to walk because as I watched my dad’s physical decline before his death, the legs seemed to be the first thing to go. I praise the Lord for every time words and thoughts of inspiration have filled my dry and empty brain. I praise the Lord for every situation that threatened, but mysteriously became defused. I praise the Lord for energy, strength, and most of all love.

Psalm 113

God the Helper of the Needy

1     Praise the Lord!

Praise, O servants of the Lord;

praise the name of the Lord.

2     Blessed be the name of the Lord

from this time on and forevermore.

3     From the rising of the sun to its setting

the name of the Lord is to be praised.

4     The Lord is high above all nations,

and his glory above the heavens.

5     Who is like the Lord our God,

who is seated on high,

6     who looks far down

on the heavens and the earth?

7     He raises the poor from the dust,

and lifts the needy from the ash heap,

8     to make them sit with princes,

with the princes of his people.

9     He gives the barren woman a home,

making her the joyous mother of children.

Praise the Lord! [2]

 

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. For what reasons, do you praise the Lord?
  2. Are there additional reasons you praise the Lord than are listed in Psalm 113?

Prayer: Lord, I praise you. I praise you for the world you have created. For every mountain and every valley, low, I praise your name! The ocean is deep, the desert, dry. Yet, through it all, I seen your love. You have created a world that is neither too hot or too cold for precious life to exist. Out of all the planets in the universe you have chosen life on earth. I praise you for your creation. I praise you for your help. I praise you for your deliverance. I praise you for your forgiveness. In my worst moments, you have given me joy. In my best moments, you have kept me humble. When I could not help myself, you came to my rescue. I praise you for your hope. I praise you for your peace. I praise you for your power, but most of all I praise you for your love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 113:3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 113). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.