We Don’t Need No Music – dsc_6866

Sometimes in the middle of an exciting, fun-filled night with people dancing, bodies sweating, and pulsating music, to make things interesting and to keep the party going, my band would stop playing with only Tyndal Prude, the drummer keeping the beat.  Instinctively, we might start singing in unison, “We don’t need no music…”  It was our way of creating another level of fun, while stretching out a song and making the night to come alive.

I thought about “We don’t need no music” last night.  Halloween always has been fun at our home.  When our children were young we would take them through the neighborhood, “Trick or treating.”  To be more precise, Denise would take them door to door and I would stay at our home handing out candy.  Thirty years later, the boys are now grown men and living their own lives in cities far from Detroit.  Denise and I are part of that large group of people world-wide who love children, have nurtured children and derive a lot of joy from children.  For people like us, Halloween could be a empty, lonely time.  What we began doing several years ago, even when our children were still with us was to create a party around Halloween where we invited in several other children.  It is a way to spread joy with other children and at the same time to soak up some of that reflected good will and energy from all of those young lives.

dsc_6830

We had several children and their parents to stop by last night.  Denise led them around the neighborhood going door to door.  I stayed at home handing out candy.  When the children returned, we had pizza waiting for them.  After the pizza, we gave each child a pumpkin with markers and led them decorate in their own ways.  This year was special because Garnett Conerway made a birthday cake and everyone sang “happy birthday” to me.  The children had on their costumes and seemed to have a ball.  They were all over the house and their enthusiasm was contagious.

dsc_6837

I was reminded that it is so easy to have a “Pity-Party” when your life changes.  You can have a choice:  you can be miserable and feel sorry for yourself, or you can do like the band and sing to yourself, “We don’t need no music,” move on and have fun.

dsc_6869

In Romans 13, the Apostle Paul talks about the importance of loving one another.  When we attempt to love as Paul has taught, what we find is that life is always fresh, new and exciting.  I invite you now to read the following passage on love and ask yourself, in what ways can I live out this commandment to love one another?

Romans 13: Owe no one anything, except to love one another; for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law. The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery; You shall not murder; You shall not steal; You shall not covet”; and any other commandment, are summed up in this word, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” 10 Love does no wrong to a neighbor; therefore, love is the fulfilling of the law. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. When in your life have you made decisions to intentionally increase your joy?
  2. What are your thoughts about Paul’s words in the passage above regarding love?

 

Prayer:  Lord, teach me to love.  Lord, free me to love myself.  Lord, free me to love my neighbor.  Lord, liberate my mind, that I might learn to seek joy, find joy and live joy.  Show me new ways to fulfill my desires in positive ways and with positive people.  Lord, help me to define my life not with earthly parameters, but with new paradigms that are founded on your word, your hope and your love.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 13:8–10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.