Hope and Prayer for the Young Adult

Last night we enjoyed dinner with several young adults from my church in Detroit who have migrated to Oakland, California.  I like being around young adults and children because they remind me that life goes on, regardless if everyone else is getting older.  Some things do not change about young adults.  Young adults tend to dream and look at the same challenges as older people, but what makes the world move forward is that they often come to new and different conclusions.  At the same time, many of the challenges that young adults face are the same challenges that generations that preceded them also had to solve:  what kind of work do I want to do?  What is my life passion?  Whom shall I love?  Who loves me?  These questions are timeless and must be answered by each successive generation.

At the table, last night were Chelsea Seabron, who was accompanied by a friend, Alphonso.  Also at dinner were Blair Parkmon and her new husband, Howie Norman.  Our son, Nathan and his wife of three years, Sharla were also present.  The occasion was to celebrate my application for Medicare, but I had another agenda.  I simply wanted to see how these young adults who were raised in the Detroit Area and connected to the church I pastor are doing now that they have come into their adulthood.  The more I listened to each person say a little about their lives and what they are doing in the Bay area, the more I was filled with a sense that the world will be alright.  Each of them is working in a different field.  Each is in the process of figuring out their life path.  As young adults, they have all the tools they need to make great lives for themselves and at the same time make the world a better place.  As I looked at each of the young adults around the dinner table, I thought back to when I first met them.  In Nathan’s case, I first saw him on a hospital monitor, and watched him taken from his mother’s womb with his umbilical cord choking him till he was blue in the face.  Chelsea, I have known since she was an infant.  Chelsea and Nathan were in Confirmation of Faith Classes that I conducted as pastor.  Two years before I entered divinity school, Chelsea’s father, Thomas, was a 12 year old in a youth ministry that I led as an advisor.  I met Blair when she entered high school in the ninth grade.  Blair joined the church through Confession of Faith and led our youth dance ministry.  Blair’s husband, Howie, I met a few years ago.  Recently, I officiated at their wedding.  Sharla and Nathan have been married for three years.  Alphonso, Chelsea’s friend, I just met last night.  Each of these young persons is working and excited about life.

As I looked at each of the young people at the dinner table last night, I thought about what my life was like when I was their age.  To me life was a big mountain waiting for me to climb.  Nothing seemed impossible.  Even today, nothing seems impossible to me.  In my young adult years’ life seemed quite “doable.”  My father often would shake his head and marvel at Denise, mothering our children and then working her day job as well.  Another thing I remember from my young adult years was wondering when I would be on a first name basis with the mayor of Detroit.  Friends of Coleman Young, our first African American Mayor of Detroit simply referred to him as Coleman.  Eventually, I got to meet the mayor in several settings including his office and in the basement of the mayor’s mansion.  I was only in my 30’s and would never dream of calling him by his first name.  Every mayor who followed Coleman Young I know and have felt comfortable calling them by their first name.  The point I am making is that somethings just take time.  As a young adult, it seemed like it would never happen.  As a full grown man, some things seem much easier than I ever imagined.  My prayer today is for the young adult.  That the Lord will bless them with dreams, hopes and aspirations and that the Lord will bless them to make good choices with prosperity that will only grow through every day of their lives.

Joel 2: 28      Then afterward

I will pour out my spirit on all flesh;

your sons and your daughters shall prophesy,

your old men shall dream dreams,

and your young men shall see visions. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What hopes and prayers do you have for young adults?
  2. How should the words of the prophet Joel give hope to young adults?
  3. What are some of the greatest challenges that young adults face?

 

Prayer:  Lord, I pray today for young adults.  I pray for those who are still forming attitudes, careers and life choices.  Bless the young adult with ambition and an openness to seek uncharted waters, to dream things that have not been done.  Bless the young adult with a fearless spirit: to go where no one has gone before, to create an environment that is sustainable, refuellable, and renewable.  Lord, bless the young adults, that they may think big, dream big, and act big.  Make them fearless as they follow their hopes, dreams and passions.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I Pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Joe 2:28). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.