My Daily Meditation

Let me share with you how I meditate.  Over the years I have incorporated several different ways and times to meditate, but the basic routine is the same.  At this stage of my life, for the last 30 years, my meditation has taken place early in the morning during the time I have set aside for physical fitness training and exercise.  After waking up around 5 AM, I go the gym three to five days a week.  In the warm months, I may walk or ride my bike two to three times during that same week.  During my exercise time I put on my headphones and listen to a series of songs that help me to think about God and what God would have me to do.  The last year or so, these songs have been Christian music.  However, sometimes I listen to sermons from C. L. Franklin.  Other times I listen to jazz and dance music.  What I have found is that music seems to uncork my spirituality and spirals my thoughts in an upward manner.  In years past, I have listened to the Bible in an audio format – the One Year Daily Audio Bible and sometimes listening to the Bible, chapter by chapter.

Before I was ordained, I sometimes would drive to Pinery Park in Canada, find a sand dune, climb to the top and pray and meditate in silence.  It did not take me long to realize that driving two hours to find a sand dune was an impractical way to meditate.

I try to write a daily spiritual blog.  For the last two or three years I have engaged in the process of thinking about, reflecting upon and writing something spiritual every day.  Some days I get tied up with my other duties and it is hard to sit down and write.  What I have found is that the daily discipline of stopping everything else to think about the Word of God, and what it is saying to me is drawing me closer to God.  My first book, “The Test, The Strength, The Endurance and the Way Out” , which is a book of personal prayers and photographs that I have written and taken, is a direct outgrowth from the daily blog.  The process of stealing away long enough to think and write anything about my faith is a powerful addition to my prayer and meditation routine.

Two weeks ago, in Miami, Florida, I preached a revival at the Church of the Open Door.  Early in the morning I would set out each day from the hotel lobby and walk down to Biscayne Bay to watch the sun rise.  During that time I found myself praying, praising God and thanking God for the opportunity to minister to people so far from my home in Detroit.  The photo at the top of this blog was taken one of those mornings as I walked and meditated.  What I am learning about meditation and prayer is that there is no particular way to open ourselves up to the will of God.  More important is that we step back from everything else that we are doing and try to focus on God.  You do not have to drive to the nearest mountain.  Meditation can take place in your work-space cubicle, the privacy of your home, in the car while you are going from place to place.  I remember a boy in one of my confirmation classes responding to my question regarding when do you pray, saying that he, his sister and mother prayed every day as she drove them to school.  He said, “My mother puts the Bible between her thighs while her hands are on the steering wheel, and she makes the three of us pray.”  The mother was getting prayer done, when and how she could.  I am so thankful they never had a wreck while praying.  More importantly, the mother showed her children how important prayer was to her.

I thank you for reading this devotional.  Hopefully this has helped to spark a conversation within your own soul on the question of how do your meditate.

 

Psalm 104: 34         May my meditation be pleasing to him, for I rejoice in the Lord. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What is the process you use for daily meditation?
  2. What does meditation do for you?

 

Prayer:  Lord, I center my thoughts on you.  Every step I take, every thought I make, I think about you!  Every action and reaction, I ask myself, “what would the Lord have me to do?”  Lord, I humble myself in prayer.  Lord, help me to set aside the cares and concerns of the day long enough to meditate upon your word, your way, and your intention for my life.  I give myself to you.  Draw me closer, Lord Jesus.  Speak to me that word I need to hear.  Show me what you would have me to do.  Make me one with your Spirit.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 104:34). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.