The Heavens Are Telling the Glory of God –

dsc_6572

The photo in this post was taken at Glacier National Park. Driving through the national park I kept pulling over to take photos of the majesty of God’s good earth. Sliding down dirt pathways to the floor of the lake, looking to the beauty of the creation all around me, it took my breath away. I did not care if snakes and other animals were nearby. To be honest, I kept looking for animals that might hurt me, but the glory Glacier National Park was overwhelming. The mountains were breathtaking. The rivers, streams and lakes magnify the glory of God. The flowers, trees and shrubs sing praise to the most high God. We drove up to just below the 6000-foot level and my adrenalin was pumping.

dsc_6565

Denise, her mother and I just returned from Missoula, Montana. Denise was in Montana for a meeting. I was there to accompany her and I preached at the University Congregational Church United Church of Christ. Listen to how David describes the glory of God in the first part of Psalm 19:

Psalm 19

God’s Glory in Creation and the Law

To the leader. A Psalm of David.

  • The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims his handiwork. [1]

 

  1.  

Questions for Reflection:

 

  1. How does the beauty of nature reflect upon the power of God?
  2. What are your thoughts about the sustainability of the creation of God?

 

Prayer: Lord, I see the mountains and I see your glory! I see rivers and streams and I see your depth. Lord, the trees, shrubs and flowers blossom with shouts of praise to your creation. The drama of the sky is high and lifted up and sings your praise. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 19). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.