A Holy Kiss –

dsc_6204
This woman presented me with a “Hersheys Kiss” Sunday after church in Misoula, Montana

 

I experienced an extraordinarily extravagant greeting Sunday from the members of the University Congregational Church United Church of Christ in Missoula, Montana. There are not a lot of African Americans in Missoula. From the fellow sweeping the entrance of the church before worship to the last person I greeted after preaching, I would have to say that this is one of the friendliest, most gracious churches I have preached at.

One of the warmest greetings I received after worship concluded was an older woman who presented me with a Hershey’s Kiss, still wrapped in foil. She pulled the Hershey’s Kiss from her purse and presented it to me as a farewell gift. When she asked me if I knew what it was, I told her “yes, it is a Hershey’s Kiss.” She said something I do not exactly remember about the significance of her giving me the “Kiss.” I responded by giving her a kiss on the cheek. It was a little thing on both of our parts, but we both understood the significance. Sometimes in life the little things matter most. I interpreted the woman’s action as her way of saying that she was glad I preached at the church and that she got something from my message.

My first thought when I received her, Hershey’s Kiss was the words of the Apostle Paul in Romans 16:

Romans 16: 16 Greet one another with a holy kiss. All the churches of Christ greet you. [1]

How do you greet other believers in Christ? How do you greet the faithful when you arrive and when you leave? What is the difference between greeting others with a “Holy Kiss” and just a plain old kiss?
Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does “Greet one another with a Holy Kiss” mean to you?
  2. How do you greet people you love?

 

Prayer:

Lord, make me uninhibited in my expressions of friendship and love. Teach me to warm and genuine in how I greet others. Make me an instrument of your love. Make my life an example of what you expect from those who believe in you. Bless me this day in your name. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 16:16). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.