Playing Through Your Injuries-

DSC_5737

The NFL, the National Football League schedule is in full gear. Yesterday as I flipped between several of the games, the point was made by several commentators that many of the teams are not at one hundred percent strength and capability because of injuries to one or more key players. Bear in mind that the last thing these athlete’s desire is to be injured to the point where they cannot play. Part of the reason that the players are so intense on ever play of the game is that they realize that there are other players who are just waiting for them to falter so they can take their place.

So, often a player will play through their injuries unless the pain is so bad they cannot function. In like manner, you and I, the mere mortals of the universe also have to learn to “Play through our injuries.” I use the word injury in a figurative sense. Married people need to learn how to “Play through their injury” and continue to love even in the difficult times. Those in business need to push through and “Play through their injuries” in a tough economy. I read in the paper yesterday that some farmers have not made a profit in twelve years, but they continue to go into debt for the next year and work even harder to make a living.

I do not know what your challenge is, but I encourage you to listen to what the Apostle Paul says in his second Letter to the Church at Corinth about how the grace of God is sufficient for every challenge.

2 Corinthians 12: but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.” So, I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. 10 Therefore I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities for the sake of Christ; for whenever I am weak, then I am strong. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are the greatest challenges when a person has to perform in spite of their weaknesses?
  2. How does the Lord help us to work and perform when we do not have all the tools to do what we are trying to do?

 

Prayer: Heal me, Lord and heal me now! Help me to return to one-hundred percent. Lord, I need you to do what medical science may not be able to do – heal me fast so I might be able to return to what I like to do and what I need to do. Lord, your grace is sufficient. I give myself totally to you. With your blessing, I will fight with my last breath; run, even on bad legs, push myself to a limit that only you Lord know is possible. Bless me now to run this race to the glory of your name. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (2 Co 12:9–10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.