Let What You Heard in the Beginning Abide in You-

DSC_1296

Sometimes a person can see so much, live so much, and know so much that you cannot tell them a cotton picking thing!  Some folk have been so beaten down by life that they have a tough time thinking and smiling.  Some people actually were better off before they experienced success and achievement.   In the first letter of John, the author expresses concern and encouragement that his readers and listeners continue to internalize and believe with the passion they had at the beginning of their faith.

The promise of Jesus Christ is that if we abide in Christ, Christ will abide in each of us, and the promise of this faith is eternal life.

1 John 2: 24 Let what you heard from the beginning abide in you. If what you heard from the beginning abides in you, then you will abide in the Son and in the Father. 25 And this is what he has promised us, eternal life. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does this passage say to you?
  2. What are some of the reasons why a believer might backslide in faith?

 

Prayer:

Bring me back, Lord to a pure faith, a pure hope and a pure love in thee.  Your word is refreshment to my soul.  Your grace and mercy are everlasting and your love is without end.  I must confess that in my sophistication I have sometimes ignored your principles and values.  Sometimes in my prosperity I have chosen to rely on myself rather than I have relied on you.  In my arrogance I have forgotten you.  In my pride sometimes I have fought when I should have stood down, I have spoken when I should have remained silent and I have withheld when I should have shared. Bring me back, Lord to a pure faith, a pure hope and a pure love in thee.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (1 Jn 2:24–25). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.