Though We Stumble We Shall Not Fall…

Signing_The_Marriage_License_063

I learned how to ice skate on the pond at Belle Isle, the pond in Palmer Park and the field house on the Michigan State Fair Grounds.  Coming from New Orleans to Detroit, ice-skating was not something I was accustomed to.  It was fun, but also a little scary.  One thin blade on the bottom of the skate was what you had to learn how to balance.  There were several times when I stumbled and sometimes fell flat on my face and my back.  Falling on a sheet of ice could take your breath away, yet somehow, some way, I finally learned to balance on the skates.

As I think about stumbling and falling on and ice rink, I think about the difference we experience when we fall in the sight of God.  Walking, running, skating might cause us to stumble and perhaps even “Fall.”  The difference with God is that people of faith may stumble and trip, but the promise of God is to catch us, dust us off and set us on a level path.  This does not mean that we will not hurt, suffer or be embarrassed, but what God has promised us through David is that we will “Not fall headlong.”  In other words, we stumble and fall down but the good Lord has promised to catch us, strengthen us and set us on a level path.  David certainly was acquainted with mistakes, but God continued to provide him with second, third and fourth chances.

In like manner, when you and I mess up and do things that we later are ashamed, God will never let you sink so low that you cannot get back up.  This is one of the promises of God to all who believe.

Psalm 37: 23 Our steps are made firm by the Lord, when he delights in our way; 24  though we stumble, we shall not fall headlong, for the Lord holds us by the hand.

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What advice would you give to a person who has fallen away from God?
  2. Can you relate to “Stumbling, but not falling headlong?’

 

Prayer:

Catch me Jesus!  When I stumble, catch me and do not let me fall!  Catch me from my mistakes.  Catch me in my poor judgement.  Catch me when I am tempted to go in a different direction.  Catch me in my arrogance.  Save me from my pride.  Catch me and hold me tight.  Catch me and do not let me fall from your grace.  Lord, there are moments when I have tripped, stumbled and almost fallen.  Bless me now and lift me up.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

 

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org