Bounce Back Like a Winner-

DSC_5655
My father, Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood Sr. (right) at the wedding of my son, Nathan in 2013

It is human and normal to feel like you have “Hit a wall.”  This is when you have done the best that you can and then something happens that makes you feel like you cannot go any farther.  People who end up winning are the people who develop the capacity to “bounce back.”

 

The successful person must not only think like a winner and act like a winner, but must also develop the capacity to bounce back like a winner.   To bounce back like a winner means to be able to rise from defeat, grow above grief, and to develop above disappointment and despair.  Every successful person I know bounced back from something.  Abraham Lincoln and Barack Obama both lost elections before being elected president of the United States.  Muhammad Ali lost a fight to Joe Frazier.  George Foreman lost to Muhammad Ali, but became bigger than life following his defeat.  Thomas Edison had multiple failures before figuring out how to to harness electricity.

 

The Bible paints a portrait of God that affirms the faithful in our defeat and disappointments.  One of those scriptures that speaks of the desire of God that failure and mistakes should not and will not derail the success of those who believe.  One of those passages of scripture that should give us hope is found in Psalm 37.  David proclaims that even when we stumble we shall not fall.  He also says that he has never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging for bread.  I invite you now to read this powerful affirmation of the support that the Lord will provide to all who believe.

Psalm 37: 23 Our steps are made firm by the Lord, when he delights in our way; 24  though we stumble, we shall not fall headlong, for the Lord holds us by the hand. 25     I have been young, and now am old, yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread. 26       They are ever giving liberally and lending, and their children become a blessing. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What advice would you give regarding a spiritual process for rebounding from failure?
  2. What are your thoughts about Psalm 37 about, “Though we stumble, we shall not fall headlong…”?

 

 

Prayer:

Lord, help me to rise from my mistakes.  When failure and disappointment threaten to drown me in despair, bless me with the reassurance that all things ultimately will work together for good.  Order my steps, Lord, and help me to bounce back from grief, suffering and sadness.  Bless me with your peace.  Bless me with your hope.  Bless me with your encouragement and most of all, bless me with your love.  Show me the path to a successful, meaningful life. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 37:23–26). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.