Imperfect People for God’s Perfect Plan –

DSC_1478
Equilla Wainwright read Acts Chapter 16 for our Travel Group prior to my mediation on the significance of Lydia and Paul

You and I are imperfect people living and breathing in God’s perfect world.  God’s plan is perfect.  Our plans often fall short of the expectation of God.  God’s plan is love, but sometimes when we are disappointed, frustrated and bitter we lash out with hate and a lack of forgiveness.  God’s expectation is self-control, but sometimes we let our guard down and go “Buck Wild.”  When we think no one will catch us, we sometimes steal, lie and break the law.  When we think no one else is looking we sometimes tip out and cheat, break the hearts those who love us and do things that put lives, relationships and professional opportunities at risk.

We are imperfect people.  The best of us, myself included, sometimes think and act in ways that fall short from the expectation of God.  The plan of God is a world of harmony and a world of peace.  The question I have for you is what will it take for you to turn the corner and return to the perfect plan of God?

Proverbs 16: 9        The human mind plans the way, but the Lord directs the steps. [1]

Proverbs 19: 21     The human mind may devise many plans, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will be established. [2]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about our imperfections as human beings and the perfection of God’s Holy plan?
  2. What is the process for working forward from our imperfections to the perfect plan God has for our lives?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I acknowledge that I am not perfect.  My thoughts are not your thoughts and my ways are not your ways.  I think about things I should not think.  I do things I should not do. Your way is generosity.  My way is sometimes selfish.  Your way is self-control, but my way is often wild, erratic and self-destructive.  Your way is love, but in anger I sometimes have slipped into hate.   Your way is to forgive, but in frustration and disappointment I have allowed my thoughts and actions to be mean, punishing and vindictive.  Lord, help me in my imperfection and point me in the path you have planned.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Pr 16:9). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Pr 19:21). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.