Whatever Your Task, Put Yourselves Into It! –

 

DSC_6106
Youth Preparing to Race at the Plymouth United Church of Christ Summer Camp in Oskoda, Michigan

 

Time is an equalizer.  The rich and the poor have one thing in common-24 hours in each day.  What you do with your time is up to you.  Some will put themselves with both feet for several minutes or hours each day.  Others will waste time as though it will always be there.  As the years pass, my sense of time has intensified.  I want to do my best, think my best and live my best each moment of each day.  Which one of us knows when the good Lord will call us home to glory?  My attitude is to live each day as though it is my last day.  The scripture I have chosen for today is one where the Apostle Paul challenges the Colossians to make the most of each task as a tribute and honor to God and not for the approval of earthly masters.  As I read this passage I think of the good news it must have provided slaves and others who felt beholden to rulers and people of authority.  Paul is telling us to be “All in” on whatever we do.  Whatever you do, put yourself “All in” to the tasks before you.

Colossians 3: 23 Whatever your task, put yourselves into it, as done for the Lord and not for your masters, 24 since you know that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward; you serve the Lord Christ[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it take to “Put yourselves into it, as done for the Lord”?
  2. What good news does this passage provide to slaves in the context of their masters?
  3. How would you incorporate this passage of scripture in encouraging others to be more energetic and enthusiastic in approaching their tasks?

 

Prayer:

Lord, grant me the energy to put myself totally into everything that I do.  Grant me enthusiasm, excitement and intensity as I approach the tasks of the day.  Lord, bless me with a dynamic sense of the moment, and the special nature and quality of every human being that I encounter.  Make me unafraid to try new things and meet new people.  Make me a better witness for you: that I might be bold in telling the world of your goodness, mercy and love.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations written and taken by Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Col 3:23–24). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.