Abide in Me…

DSC_3654 internet version

Abide in me…these words of Jesus remind me of the Minnie Ripperton song, “Inside my love”-  Minnie Ripperton sang of lovers becoming one.  Jesus talks about believers becoming one in faith with his Holy Word.  Lovers become one with one another.  Our physical love is an outward manifestation of an inner love.  Sometimes the physical aspects of love: desire, attraction, positive energy can cause a person to seek the oneness of physical intimacy and jump right past a deeper oneness of two hearts seeking to grow love on an emotional and spiritual level.  Listen to sister Minnie’s words:

Two people, just meeting, barely touching each other Two spirits, greeting, tryna carry each further You are one, and I am another We should be, one inside each other

You can see inside me, will you come inside me Do you wanna ride, inside my love You can see inside me, will you come inside me Do you wanna ride, inside my love

My love, my love, my love My love, my love, my love

Two strangers, not strangers Only lacking the knowing So willing, feeling Infinite growing While we’re here, the whole world is turning We should be, one, fulfilling the yearning

You can see inside me, will you come inside me Do you wanna ride, inside my love You can see inside me, will you come inside me Do you wanna ride, inside my love You can see inside me, will you come inside me Do you wanna ride, inside my love

Say that you’ll ride, inside this love with me Come ride, inside this love with me

You can see inside me, will you come inside me Do you wanna ride, inside my love You can see inside me, will you come inside me Do you wanna ride, inside my love

You can see inside me, will you come inside me Do you wanna ride, inside my love You can see inside me, will you come inside me Do you wanna ride, inside my love

Abide in me…these words of Jesus are words of eternal love.  Abide in me, in other words, become one with me in faith, hope and love.  Become one with me so that my values are your values, my principals are your principals, and my hope and joy are your hope and joy.  Jesus follows this promise with “ask for whatever you wish, and it will be done for you”

Most people I know would like to get what they want from Jesus.  Jesus says you can have it all if you first abide in him and his words abide in you.  Jesus wants you and me to become one with Him.  Jesus wants you and me to stop fooling around with a half and quarter faith.  He wants us to give ourselves 100 percent to him.  This does not mean that you have to become a monk or a nun.  This does not mean that you have to live a lousy life and be a square.  This does not mean you have to live a life of poverty.  What it does mean is that the Lord wants your all.  Jesus wants you and me to dedicate our lives to him and literally become one with him.

 

John 15: If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask for whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does in mean when Jesus says, “Abide in me”?
  2. What does it mean for Jesus words to “Abide in you”?

 

Prayer:

Lord, grant me the strength to abide in you.  Humble my heart that I might follow you.  Open my heart that I might fully receive you.  Pierce my heart that your words might abide in me.  Make me one with your Spirit.  Take me now Lord to a deeper faith, higher  hoper, and all-encompassing love.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Mike Daniels – “Baptism in the Detroit River”

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jn 15:7). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.