Close the Wound and Spike the Ball! –

DSC_3648
My Mother in law’s Sweet Potato Pie

 

Often when a football player scores a touchdown they will “Spike” the ball by throwing it straight on the ground of the end zone, only to let the pointed end of the ball bounce it in any number of wild directions.

For many of us, life can get pretty tough.  We work our work, raise our children, handle our singleness, go to church with a smile upon our face, yet there are times when our tears flow like a river beneath the protective skin our faces and it seems as though we are living with an open wound that refuses to be healed.  When healing occurs and the situation resolves itself, sometimes in the exuberance of our joy, it may feel natural to want to sing and dance to let someone know we fell like “Spiking the Ball.”  I believe that the woman in Luke 8 with a 12-year issue of blood, when she was healed after touching the hem of his robe, if she lived in our world, would be so happy that she might have “Spiked the ball!”  Jesus tells her to go in peace and she is healed.

Someone reading this spiritual blog might be living with an open wound.  You have tried everything else, now, I encourage you to try Jesus!  Give him your hurt, your shame and your emptiness and the Lord will bless you without ceasing.

 

Luke 8: 47 When the woman saw that she could not remain hidden, she came trembling; and falling down before him, she declared in the presence of all the people why she had touched him, and how she had been immediately healed. 48 He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well; go in peace.” [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What “Open wounds” do you carry?
  2. Have you ever brought your “Open Wounds” to the Lord?

 

Prayer:  Lord, grant that I might have many opportunities to rejoice.  Make me uninhibited in my desire to praise and thank you.  Bind my wounds and heal my infirmity.  In the quiet, lonely solitude of my distress, hear my prayer.  Touch me and I shall be made whole.  Feel me and I will be renewed.  Speak to me and I shall listen.  Grant me a reason to rejoice and a faith that shall be restored.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

(Note:  I will be preaching about the story from Luke 8 this Sunday.  I hope to see you in church.

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 8:47–48). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.