Who Can Enter a Strong Man’s House?

DSC_5149
Dr. Herbert Smitherman and Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

 

In one of his movies, Richard Pryor is sentenced to prison.  As he is led down the cell block and prisoners are making cat-calls, with his fear rising, Pryor starts doing a “Pimp Walk”, talks to himself saying, “I’m bad, I’m bad.”  I came away with the feeling that he was trying to reassure himself that he could survive the prison experience, but deep down inside he is not so sure.  He is trying to portray himself as a strong man.

Strong men and women do not have to utter a word.  You know when you are in the presence of a strong man or woman.  They do not tell you they are strong.  The strong person does not have to flex their muscles or do a set of push-ups or sit ups.  A strong person is often a humble person.  The strong man or woman will bend down to help a child to show them the way.  The strong person will often give money to the poor.  Strong men and women demonstrate the capacity to be tender, loving and kind.  Weak men sometimes will hit women when they become frustrated with their frailty, will call them out of their name and insult them.

Jesus says you cannot enter a strong man’s house unless you first tie him up.  A strong man can become tied up with distractions, despair, disinterest and desertion.  I encourage you today to seek true strength, not an external strength that is internally weak, but a true strength that transcends time, wealth, and circumstance.

Mark 3: 27 But no one can enter a strong man’s house and plunder his property without first tying up the strong man; then indeed the house can be plundered. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What is your definition of a strong man?
  2. How would Jesus describe a strong man?

 

Prayer:  Lord, make me strong on every level.  Strengthen my body from the head to the toe.  Push me, so I might push my body.  Stretch me, so I might stretch in strength.  Make me agile and grant me balance.  Give me a strength that is deeper than my muscles.  Grant me an inner strength that is not dependent upon my arms or legs.  Grant me ears to hear, eyes to see and a heart to feel.  Make me strong enough to withstand evil, kind enough to overcome hate, and loving enough to move mountains.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Hon. Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mk 3:27). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.