My God Will Fully Satisfy Every Need of Yours According to his Riches in Glory in Christ Jesus –

DSC_4992
Matthew Daniel flanked by his main men right before his wedding to Barbara Wynder

 

The final blessing of the Apostle Paul to the Church at Philippi is a beautiful blessing:  Philippians 4: 19 And my God will fully satisfy every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus[1]

The occasion of this blessing begins with the Church at Philippi sending Paul a gift while he is under house arrest in Rome, awaiting a trial before Caesar.  The church loved Paul and Paul loved the church.  Because he is under house arrest, the church does not know how Paul is doing.  They send him a gift.  Paul does not inform us as to exactly what the nature of the gift is.  The gift he received from the church really touched Paul.  Paul blessed the church and encouraged them to rejoice in season and out of season.

His final blessing to the church is a promise that God will satisfy their every need.  I believe that the promise of Paul to the Church at Philippi is a similar blessing that you and I can expect from God.  I believe that God will satisfy each of our needs, whatever they may be.  God is aware of where we are weak, frustrated, hopeful and empty.  The satisfaction of our needs will come from God directly.

Needs and wants are different.  What we want is not necessarily what we need. What we need is not always what we want.  However, when we pour our hearts out to God, the Lord will satisfy our every need.

Another lesson from the Letter of Paul to the Philippians is that Paul seems to be saying that because of their concern for him, God has reserved a special blessing for them.  Likewise, when we demonstrate our love for others, even when they may treat us with disrespect and arrogant disregard, when we pour our hearts out in love, we open the door for God to come in and satisfy our every need.

Philippians 4: 15 You Philippians indeed know that in the early days of the gospel, when I left Macedonia, no church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you alone. 16 For even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me help for my needs more than once. 17 Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the profit that accumulates to your account. 18 I have been paid in full and have more than enough; I am fully satisfied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent, a fragrant offering, a sacrifice acceptable and pleasing to God. 19 And my God will fully satisfy every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. 20 To our God and Father be glory forever and ever. Amen. [2]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How do you think God “Satisfies every one of your needs”?
  2. What is the expectation of God for those who believe in Jesus Christ?

 

Prayer:  Lord, satisfy my needs.  Make me unashamed to make my requests of you.  Where I am empty, grant me your fullness.  Where there is a void, bless me with your presence.  Where I am dull and insensitive, grant me a new found sensitivity.  In my poverty, grant me your prosperity.  In my ignorance, grant me your intelligence.  In my hunger, grant me your fullness. Lord, I place my trust in your care.  Search me, test me, strengthen me and fill me.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Php 4:19). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Php 4:15–20). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.