All Things Are Possible

DSC_4580
Rev. Dr. Joaquin Willis, Revival Preacher, on the left and me

 

My church concluded a revival last night.  The theme of the revival was, “All Things Are Possible.”  One of the passages of scripture that I think about when thinking of the sense of possibility that Jesus Christ affords to you and me is in the Book of Philippians:

Philippians 4: 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.[1]

Paul is said to have written this letter while in Rome under house arrest, waiting for a trial before Caesar.  The little church at Philippi was the first church Paul established in Asia Minor.  It was not the biggest church.  Neither was it the richest church, but it was a church that was proud to be associated with Paul and loved him deeply.

Every time I think about the words of Paul: “I can do all things through him who strengthens me,” I wonder, where does this come from?  Paul knows he is on a virtual, “Death row.”  He knows his situation will probably not have a good end.  The church at Philippi has sent a visitor to inquire as to the health and needs of Paul.  I think that he is trying to cheer up the church at Philippi and to perhaps deflect their attention from the suffering he is enduring to a larger sense of empowerment that Paul is experiencing.

  1. Paul believes he can do all things because he has faith that God can do all things.
  2. Paul has a history of experiencing the power and deliverance of God.
  3. Paul has already experienced the strength that God has endowed him.
  4. Even on “Death row” Paul uses his situation as an opportunity to reach out and witness to others.
  5. Even though his back is up against a wall, Paul believes that his situation will come to a positive end.

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Why do you think Paul said, “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”?
  2. Do you think Paul was delusional or really thought he could do, “All things?”

Prayer:

Lord, grant me a sense of possibility.  Even when it seems like the door is shut, the way is long and the opportunities are slim, help me to dream new dreams, envision new paths and live life with a new sense of power.  Lord, I seek your presence.  Lord, I need your protection.  Lord, I desire your providence.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Php 4:13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.