Transformed by the Renewing of Your Mind-

Signing_The_Marriage_License_063

Some people think that if you give your life to Jesus Christ, you have to be a “Square” or a spiritual nut, who is so directed to heaven, they can’t live normal live.  The Apostle Paul speaks about personal transformation starting in the recesses of our minds.  I believe Paul is correct.

You can try to get yourself together by making external changes to your life.  People do this all the time.  Some who have never played golf, take up the sport in the hope of relaxing, but sometimes this is not the result.  Others seek personal transformation through support-group conversations.  For example, I know a number of persons who have tried to get off of drugs, stop smoking or drinking, but they have a difficult time.  I think the Apostle Paul would say, “If you want to get yourself together, take your issue to the Lord, first.”

“Garbage in-Garbage Out” is an expression I have heard bantered around computer programing.  What it means is that I your starting point is compromised, the end will not be much better.  Let me break this down in terms of our personal relationships.  If you hang out with a decadent crowd, you will probably end up with decadent relationships.  If you want decent friendships, stay away from the “Thug Life.”  If you want a wholesome sex life, stay in a “Wholesome” lane.  If you want to know more about Jesus, study Jesus.  If you want to change from a chaotic, crises type of marriage or date -life, strive for personal inner peace first and let it ooze into your personal relationships.

Paul has a great way of talking about personal renewal:

Romans 12: Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, so that you may discern what is the will of God—what is good and acceptable and perfect.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are some of the steps for the “Renewing” of your mind?
  2. What would be some of the challenges to personal renewal?

 

Prayer:  Transform me, Lord.  Transform my thoughts and make my negatives, positive and my dirty, clean.  Transform my actions- focus my behavior so I might become a reflection of thee.  Clean my mind.  Scrub my heart. Detox my hands.  Make me your witness.  Make me your servant.  Through Jesus Christ our  Lord and Savior.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional  Photos Prayers and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 12:2). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.