How Are They to Believe in One Whom They Have Never Heard…?

 

Last Sunday I saw a beautiful image of fatherhood.  Phil Peek
image

came to church with his son, Jackson.  Father and son were decked out in white suits, blue shirts and dressed like a pair!  When I looked at the father and son dressed alike and in church together, I thought of a passage of scripture my Bible Study read last week from Romans 10, where the Apostle Paul reminds his readers of the importance of bringing others into the faith.  In like manner, the best way to make sure that our children have a strong Christian foundation is to bring them to church.  When I looked at little Jackson dressed like his dad, I thought to myself, “How best to show a boy how to dress than to dress him like his dad?”

Romans 10: 14 But how are they to call on one in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in one of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone to proclaim him? 15 And how are they to proclaim him unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!” 16 But not all have obeyed the good news; for Isaiah says, “Lord, who has believed our message?” 17 So faith comes from what is heard, and what is heard comes through the word of Christ.[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What responsibility to you feel to lead others to Jesus Christ?
  2. What are some of the more effective ways you have heard others proclaim Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I want to proclaim your truth, goodness and mercy!  You have been so good to me, you have been my light, my joy, and my reason for living!  Speak through me, that I might teach others your way.  Bless me and I will bless others in your name, through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Clifford Rockefeller of Phil Peek and his son, Jackson

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 10:14–17). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.