Atheist, Agnostic and the Awesome Power of Jesus Christ-

DSC_3251

The atheist and agnostic are difficult to evangelize and witness.  Why, because they tend to already have make up their own minds about God.  The atheist does not believe in God.  The agnostic is open to the possibility of God, but still has not accepted the Lord.  I find the arguments they make, pitiful and designed around a world view they as morally bankrupt and short-sighted.

In college I knew a young woman who did not believe in God.  At best, she was an atheist, perhaps she was an agnostic.  I was attracted to her because she was cute.  She was fascinated, I think, a little in me because I believed in God.  One day she called me and asked me to pray for her father.  She told me her father and mother did not believe in God, and did not try to expose her and her siblings to Jesus Christ.  She may have been open to the concept of God, but she had no faith or foundation in Jesus.  She called to ask me to pray for her sick father who was scheduled to have surgery the next day.  She felt helpless because she knew absolutely nothing about prayer.  However, she reached out to me because she knew I knew the Lord.  I jumped at the chance with the thought that maybe if I could pray for her dad to have a good outcome, maybe she might give me a chance.  This is the long and short of what happened.  I prayed like I have never prayed before, that her father would not lose his eyesight because of surgery.  There was a 50 percent chance that the surgery might render him blind.  The day after the surgery she called to inform me that her dad’s surgery was a success and he still had his eyesight.  She also let me know that she still was not interested in me.  Smile.  So much for prayer!

More importantly, his recovery served as a reminder to me that God still answers prayer.  As I think about the young atheist, I think about the words of the Apostle Paul in Romans 10 where he extolls the virtues of preaching.  We looked at this verse Wednesday Evening in my “Burgers and the Bible” Discussion.  For the first time it dawned on me that Paul is not just talking about how wonderful it is to preach and to have someone to preach to us, but also, he is talking with pity about those who never were brought to Sunday School, never taught to pray, never encouraged to sings the songs of Zion, and never learned to hope without ceasing because of the salvation that only Jesus can bring.

What I have come to learn in Jesus is that the Lord can save you, pick you up from the mess you have created and the mess others place upon you.  He will fight your battles and grant you the strength to press on.  When you are lonely, he will comfort you.  When you are thirsty, he will refresh you.  When you are lost he will find you and put you on the right course.  When you are hungry, he will feed you.

Yes, it is a beautiful thing to hear the Word of God, but if a person has not been exposed to the awesome power of Jesus Christ, the Lord means nothing to them, and all the fervent words in the world will mean nothing to you.

So, your challenge and my challenge is to find the right words, say the right words, live a life worthy of the high calling in Jesus Christ and then reach out to the lost.

Romans 10: 14 But how are they to call on one in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in one of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone to proclaim him? 15 And how are they to proclaim him unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!” 16 But not all have obeyed the good news; for Isaiah says, “Lord, who has believed our message?” 17 So faith comes from what is heard, and what is heard comes through the word of Christ.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What do you think is the best way to witness to an atheist?
  2. Do you think of yourself as one who is a “Proclaimer?
  3. What are the two most powerful ways someone witnessed to you or to someone else?

 

Prayer:  Lord, grant me the most appropriate words to witness in an effective manner for you.  Fill my lips with words and thoughts that can pierce the indifference and callous nature of those who refuse to read your Word, and look for any and every excuse to dismiss your grace, mercy and love.  Lord, with every miracle, I find that I seek more.  With every challenge I not only believe in you, but hope for more.  Teach me to live through and above the challenges that hold me back from seeing your relevance for today’s world.  Through Jesus Christ we pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministrie.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 10:14–17). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.