God Gave Them a Sluggish Spirit –

DSC_3400
Denise and Me in Trinidad last week

 

Have you ever felt sluggish?  Have you ever missed the blessing of God because you were tired?  There is an interesting section of the lesson for next week’s “Burgers and the Bible” which talks about “God gave them a sluggish spirit…”(Vs.8)  In this part of the Letter of Paul to the Romans, Paul articulates his sorrow that although the salvation of God was offered to the Jewish people first, because of a sluggish spirit, many of those whom he calls, “God’s elect” missed the blessing of God because they had a “Sluggish spirit.”

As you think about you faith, ask yourself, “What kind of spirit do I have?”  Am I an aggressive or passive believer in Christ?  Am I missing my blessing because I am slow to move, reluctant to act and reticent to receive what God has ordained for me?

Romans 11: What then? Israel failed to obtain what it was seeking. The elect obtained it, but the rest were hardened, as it is written, “God gave them a sluggish spirit, eyes that would not see and ears that would not hear, down to this very day.” [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does this verse say to you, “God gave them a sluggish spirit…?”
  2. What is your process for developing and maintaining an enthusiastic spirituality?

 

Prayer:

Lord, grant me an enthusiastic, excited about life spirit!  Lord, help me to make the most of life, the most of each day and the most of the body you have given to me.  Lord, I pray that you might never leave or fail me.  Lord, I desire your sight.  Lord, I desire your joy.  Lord, I desire your salvation.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 11:7–8). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.