The Green Garden-

DSC_3515
Our friend, Vicki, in the center and her staff persons at the “Green Garden”- Adaeze, and Raisa

 

Denise and I have a friend who has a “Farmer’s” style market in Trinidad called, “The Green Market.”  I invite you to google the Green Market to learn more about it.  Our friend, Vicki, has a vision that has become a reality – her vision is a market that offers only the freshest, organically grown flowers and foods available.  The market is nearing its fifth year.  It was the first, “Green” market in Trinidad.  Since its inception, other “Green” style markets have popped up.

Vicki has a team made primarily of young, enthusiastic, idealistic women who are on a mission to bring growers and the public together.  Yesterday, we spent a few hours with Vicki and her young staff.  I wrote a blog post, answered a few emails, and humored the young women as I practiced the harmonica.

  As I think of what they are accomplishing: bringing growers and hundreds of customers together two days a week to partake of only the freshest of foods it made me think of the experience of Daniel and his friends in Babylon.  Daniel insisted that they be allowed to eat only fresh vegetables.  At the end of a ten-day test period, Daniel and his friends were healthier than the others who were fed a rich diet of wine and fat meat.

Daniel 1: 15 At the end of ten days it was observed that they appeared better and fatter than all the young men who had been eating the royal rations. 16 So the guard continued to withdraw their royal rations and the wine they were to drink, and gave them vegetables.[1]

The prophet Isaiah in his prophecy of the coming day of the Lord that God will continue to guide the people, will satisfy the people, make them strong and they will be like a well-watered garden – Isaiah 58: 11 The Lord will guide you continually, and satisfy your needs in parched places, and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters never fail. [2]

Jesus Christ uses the image of his grace and power as “The bread of life.”  He preached that those who come to him will never be hungry and neither will they be thirsty.

John 6: 35 Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty[3]

So, I come back to the “Green Garden” in Trinidad.  I find the concept to be a wholesome, wonderful, fresh idea- eat only what is good for you.  As we strive to eat what is fresh and good, we glorify the Lord through the building up the temple of God that is within each of us.  The paradise of God is described as a beautiful garden that is waiting as a promise and reward for all who believe.

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What do you believe is our responsibility to nourish our bodies with only the freshest and best foods?
  2. Do you treat your body as a “Temple of God.”?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I come before you today with a prayer for healthy nourishment.  Open my eyes and my understanding that I might eat those things that are healthy, drink only what is refreshing, and live life the way you have ordained.  Lord, I seek your blessing.  Today, I give my heart to you, that I might drink from that fountain that never shall run dry.  Fill my cup and let it overflow.  Fill my plate and let me eat those foods that are fresh and without blemish.  Lord, grant me your nourishment.  Lord, give me your strength.  Lord, give me your love.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Photos Prayers and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Da 1:15–16). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Is 58:11). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[3] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jn 6:35). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.