Pathway to Peace for Your Life Now! – DSC_3094

The search to find inner peace can be one of the most elusive in life.  We go from book to book, promise to promise, and hope to hope, seeking to find a joy beyond joy and peace within our souls.  For me, I have found a truth that transcends the truth of this world – that truth is in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior.

Jesus promised that the peace he offers is better than the peace of the world.  What is the peace of this world?    We are taught from our youth that if we make a lot of money, gain fortune and fame, and consume ourselves with an un-ending acquisition of material things that we will live the good life and ultimately inner peace and joy will follow.

I cannot tell you the number of people I have met who have what looks like great lives, but when I talk with them I realize that something is missing.  The opposite is also true.  There are people in this world who seem so joyful and peaceful even though they live modest lives.  This does not mean that the poor are happy and the rich are unsettled.  The path to inner peace starts with a relationship with Jesus Christ.

Jesus gives us a pathway to peace in this way:

  1. Jesus offers us a promise to forgive us of our sins
  2. Jesus shows us the best way possible to live in relation to others
  3. Jesus has promised the presence of the Holy Spirit to comfort, chasten, lead and guide us every day of our lives
  4. Jesus promises us eternal life through his saving grace.

Jesus pathway to inner peace is summed up in the following verse:

John 14: 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid[1]

My encouragement to you right now is that you step back, look in the mirror, and begin to reconsider the life you are living and ask yourself this simple question:  Am I truly happy?   Do I enjoy the life I am living?  If not, I encourage you to seek to incorporate the principals and promise of Jesus Christ in your life.  What you will find is that the Lord will show you new ways to find fun, new ways to relate to others and new ways to see yourself in the larger context of God’s plan for the world.

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are some of the reasons some people are not at peace with themselves?
  2. How does Jesus Christ provide those who believe with inner peace?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I pray today that you might place my life on a pathway to inner peace.  Teach me to find satisfaction and fulfilment in the small things of life.  From the still, small, subtle beauty of the little bird to the mighty majesty of the mountains in their glory, teach me to find peace and joy in every aspect of life.  Lord, I trust your judgement.  Lord, I seek your calm.  Lord, I want your joy.  Show me the way to peace.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III – “Grand Rivera”, Trinidad

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations written and taken by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jn 14:27). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.