To Set the Mind on the Spirit is Life and Peace-

DSC_2416
left to right:  Nancy Page, Liz Mahoy, Kullah Allen, Denise Page Hood and myself after “Burgers and the Bible” which is a backyard Bible Discussion on the Book of Romans at my home.

 

The search for inner peace can be a challenge.  Life is full of situations that can cause the mind to overheat with stress.  When we worry about where our next meal will come from, or are filled with chaos, confusion and disappointment at home, quality of life and peace are difficult to attain.  In Romans chapter 8, the Apostle Paul encourages his readers to “Set the mind on the Spirit.”

Too often in life we set our minds on things that cannot provide us with inner peace and joy.  Modern life has so many creature comforts that are so tempting to try to purchase.  There will always be a larger television with colors that are more vivid, sound that is clearer, and interfaces that work better.  In like manner, the cars we drive are smarter and increasingly can drive themselves.  Our computers are faster with greater memory.  These are all wonderful things, but at some point we should ask ourselves, do we really need all of this?  And, is our desire to acquire these things making us sick with desire?

The Apostle Paul is reaching out to the church at Rome with encouragement and hope for a better life.  A cornerstone for where hope for life with peace and joy springs forth anew is by making the mental shift from a life that seeks the carnal and a life that seeks the Spirit which provides us with “Life and Peace.”  My encouragement to you this day is that you seek life and peace and not death and destruction.

Romans 8: To set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace.[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How should and can we “Set the mind on the Spirit”?
  2. What does “Life and peace” in the Spirit look like?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I seek your Spirit.  Lord, I seek your presence.  Lord, I seek life and peace that only your Spirit can bring.  Elevate my mind so I might dwell on a higher level.  Fill my soul with your peace which has no end.  Fill my mind with peaceful thoughts and a tranquility that transcends the challenges of the day.  Bless me with your calm.  Bless me with your peace.  Bless me with your presences.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Cliff Rockefeller

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 8:5–6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.