When We Were Young

Seven Sounds
“Seven Sounds” – left to right: Floyd Jones Jr., Emory Hood, Tyndal Prude, Nicholas Hood III (seated) Dwight Andrews, Carl Boyd, A. Spencer Barefield

 

Dwight Andrews sent me this week a photo of the band we played in from high school through college known of as the “Seven Sounds.”  A couple of months ago I wrote a rather long blog post about the Seven Sounds, so I am not going to rehash it in this piece, but suffice to say that when I saw this photo it reminded me of how young we were when we first began to play as a group.  I am the fellow seated at the organ I was in the 11th grade in this photo and I would imagine around 16 years old.  Floyd Jones, on the left with the trumpet was a year older than I.  My brother Emory was 14 in this photo, is standing next to Floyd with his bass guitar protruding.  Tyndal Prude, the drummer is next to Emory.  Dwight Andrews, saxophone is next to Emory.  Carl Boyd, our first saxophone player, who lived across the alley from us is next to Dwight.  Spencer Barefield, who is now a great guitar player, on the right, was only around 14 in this photo.

My first reaction to the photo was how young we were.  None of us had driver’s licenses – several of our fathers drove us to the engagements where we performed.  We had a lot of fun, made some money, and never looked back!

This weekend, the surviving members of this band are gathering on Saturday at my church to help me celebrate 40 years in the ministry.  Also, joining us will be Rose Thornton, now Rose McKinney James, who sang with us from 1968.  If you are in Detroit tomorrow, June 11, 2016 at 5 PM, the surviving members of my band will be with me at the Plymouth United Church of Christ at 5 PM for a “Jam Session.”

In life we are only young once.  I thank God for this photo because it reminds me of how young we were when we played our instruments to the glory of God.  I encourage you to take advantage of every age and stage of your life, because it is a gift from God.

Proverbs 20: 29      The glory of youths is their strength, but the beauty of the aged is their gray hair. [1]

Prayer:

Lord, I thank you for the years of my youth.  I thank you for every experience.  I thank you for all the lessons I learned.  I thank you for my friends.  I thank you for the challenges.  Most of all, I thank you for your presence.  You have been with me every step of the way.  My prayer today is that you will continue to be with me, continue to lead me and guide me, through the storms, through the rain, the joyful moments and the pain. And, when my time shall come, lay me gently to sleep and carry me home to that kingdom which has no end.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo of the Seven Sounds by? (1967)

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Pr 20:29). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.