You Knit Me in My Mother’s Womb

DSC_1592
Verlisa Allen and her son

 

Saturday night Denise and I experienced the life of a pastor and his wife.  We began at a celebration of a marriage of one of my former members and her new husband.  I hate to lose even one member of the church.  When she asked me to say a prayer at her marriage celebration, I jumped at the opportunity.  Walking into the place where I was to pray, my first observation was that it looked like a very formal wedding, even though they were already married.  I whispered to the bride, “are you sure you want me only to offer a prayer?  This looks like a wedding.”  She replied, “Do what you think is best.”  So, I improvised and led the couple through a renewal and repetition of their vows.  Before the ceremony, one of the guests looked at me and asked what was going on?  I told her, I did not know, but if this had happened to me 30 years earlier I would have been petrified.

Almost immediately after the wedding ceremony, we raced to a northwestern suburb of Detroit for the 70 birthday party of Kulah Allen.  Kulah is a member of my church who is originally from Sierra Leone.  Her son and daughter in law threw the party in their home.  We had to attend the party even though it was a Saturday night and I was scheduled to preach two sermons the next morning.  In 2005 I had traveled with Kulah to Sierra Leone to observe her family health clinic as a possible mission site for our church in Detroit.  I learned so much on that trip about west African culture and my life has been forever changed.

During the party I took pictures of Kulah, her sisters and children.  After taking the group photo I asked Verlisa, the daughter in law, if I could take a picture of her and her baby son, Mato.  The smile on both the faces of the mother and child were priceless.  As I looked at the mother and baby son, I thought of the words of the psalmist in Psalm 139:

Psalm 139; 13         For it was you who formed my inward parts; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. [1]

The point David makes in Psalm 139 is that while your mother may love you, God loves you more; the love of a mother a great, but God is greater.

Psalm 139: 13           For it was you who formed my inward parts;

you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14   I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

Wonderful are your works;

that I know very well.

15      My frame was not hidden from you,

when I was being made in secret,

intricately woven in the depths of the earth.

16   Your eyes beheld my unformed substance.

In your book were written

all the days that were formed for me,

when none of them as yet existed. [2]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What image comes to your mind when reading verse 13 of Psalm 139, “You knit me together in my mother’s womb?”
  2. Why do you think God uses the image of “Being knit in my mother’s womb”?

 

Prayer:

Lord, you created me.  Lord, you have shaped me and molded me.  You put me together before I knew my name.  Your ways are not my ways.  Your thoughts are not my thoughts, but Lord, I seek your face.  I seek your presence and your joy.  My mother loves me, but you love me more.  My mother is great, but you are greater.  My mother is smart, but you are smarter.  Lord, there is no one or anything quite like you.  You fill me, you touch me, you bless me.  Lord, I praise you.  Lord, I honor you.  Lord, I give you glory.  Lord, I give you my all.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 139:13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 139:13–16). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.