The Word of God is Living and Active

DSC_1572

 

 

Yesterday evening, I embarked upon a concept I tried out last summer.  I call it, “Burgers and the Bible.”  Over hamburgers, hotdogs, watermelon, chips, cookies and other foods, several members and friends of my church stopped by my backyard for a discussion of the fifth chapter of Romans.  The discussion was spiritually invigorating and illuminating.  I thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience.  For me, it was a reminder that there is no one way to study the Word of God.  The backyard Bible discussion also reminded me of how much we as individuals are drawn to the Word.  We want to know the Word, understand the Word, and figure out how to incorporated the Word into the ups and downs of our day to day living.

DSC_1535

The persons in this photo are regular attendees at my Bible discussions.  Mrs. Sydney Harvey, in white, and her son, Charles, in the grey Tee shirt, along with Clifford Rockefeller in the white shirt and tie attend this Bible discussion all year long.  I am the fellow in the red/magenta shirt.  The photo was taken by the son of Cliff Rockefeller, Rick.

Next week, the Bible Discussion will take place on Wednesday at 7 PM, again in my backyard, and yes, there will be burgers and hot dogs!  The focus will be Romans Chapter 6.  If you are in the Detroit area, please feel welcome to stop by.  For directions and other information, please call 313-831-2460 or email me at hcarson@puccdetroit.org

 

Hebrews 4: 12 Indeed, the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing until it divides soul from spirit, joints from marrow; it is able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart. 13 And before him no creature is hidden, but all are naked and laid bare to the eyes of the one to whom we must render an account. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What about the Word of God excites you?
  2. What is it about the Word of God which was written hundreds years ago enables it to continue to be “Living and active”?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I love your Word.  Lord I want to know more about your will, your way and your truth.  Lord, touch me with your Word.  Show me through your Word what you would have me to do.  I read your Word and it pierces my soul.  I read your Word which was written so many years ago, but even today it inspires, leads, guides and cuts me to my core.  Bless me this day through the reading and understanding of your Word.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Heb 4:12–13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.