Do Not Be Afraid, Little Flock!

DSC_1487
Dr. Monique Roberts Butler, her daughter and friend after my Memorial Day Pastor’s Bike Ride

 

This Memorial Day we ended my Annual Pastor’s Bike Ride with a cook out at my home.  At one point I saw one of our young mothers, Monique Roberts Butler with her daughter and another one of our church girls sitting on my front steps, talking and having a good time.  As I looked at the three females, I thought to myself about how wonderful it is for children to have adult role models, even when they are someone other than their own parents.

I thought about how often Jesus referred to his followers as “Children.”  One of those instances is in Luke 12 where Jesus concludes a larger teaching on not being overwhelmed by money and the will of God “To give you the kingdom.”  I interpret this to mean that it is the will of God to bless us in this life and the life to come.  Some are so heavenly bound they are no earthly good.  Others are so focused on this earth that they are no heavenly good.  Some of the greatest lessons we should learn from the faith and incorporate into our daily lives is how to balance money with inner peace and joy and knowing when and how to share our gifts with others.  The promise of Jesus is that God will bless us for our generosity in this  life and beyond.

Luke 12: 32 “Do not be afraid, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about the “Good pleasure of God to give you the kingdom”?
  2. What are the roots of our fears in life?

 

Prayer:

Lord, help me to handle fear.  Take away my doubts.  Take away my concerns. Remind me that you have placed me on earth for a reason.  Help me to find my purpose.  Help me to understand what you would have me to do.  Lord, show me the path to your kingdom.  Fill me with the willingness to share my talents, skills and blessings with not only the poor, but with whomever I might be able to bless.  Grant me a spirit of generosity and compassion as I live each day to the most.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 12:32). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.