Let the Lord Be Your Strength

DSC_0998
Lake Sinclair, east of the Detroit River

 

Ephesians 6: 10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his power.[1]

The outside temperature in Detroit this morning was 55 degrees.  Waking up at 4:45 AM I fumbled around in the dark trying to find my gym clothes.  Tuesday and Thursdays are my “Leg” and cardio days.  Googling the weather, it dawned upon me that this might be a good day to change up the exercise routine, skip the gym, and head to the lake, which is close to where I live.  Dressing like a nut, I grabbed by camera bag and jumped into the car. The forecast for today is rain in the afternoon, but a decent sunrise at dawn.  As I drove to Lake Sinclair, which is on the eastern lip of the fast Detroit River, I prayed a little prayer that the Lord would continue to strengthen my legs.  This would be my first time walking along the lake front since winter set in.  Most Tuesdays and Thursdays during the winter I drive to the gym.  My mission today was to drive close to the lake, park the car and walk with the camera bag on my back, take a few photos to check the light and views for a later trip with the tripod and patient waiting for the sun to peek above the water.

As it turned out, I took 73 photos of the sunrise.  The whole time I kept thanking the Lord that my legs are getting stronger and that I can walk a long way without pain.  After a while I shifted the prayer from thanking the Lord for strength in my legs to a prayer for strength in the body, the mind, and the soul.

Crossing Jefferson, I kept walking to find better views.  When east bound cars were not to be found, I stepped off of the grass and walked westward on the dry east bound side of the street until I found the spots where I wanted to take a photo.  When cars appeared, I stepped back up the curb onto the dew-wet grass of the sunrise.  At one point I tripped on the curb and fell on to the wet, dark grass- praying that my left shoulder would escape the dung of the geese who like the sliver of grass between the lake and the street.  Rising from the wet grass with no apparent geese droppings on my jacket and running pants, my prayer changed to a prayer that the Lord will bless me with balance and patience.

Prayer:

Lord, bless me with your strength.  Grant me power in the legs, balance the body from the brain, love in the face of deceitful people, and joy in every step and stage of life.  I thank you for my eyes, that I might receive beautiful images of nature and people.  I thank you for my ears that I might hear the variety of sounds of life.  I thank you for inner peace and joy, that I might push the limits to the glory of your name.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo of Lake Sinclair (east of the Detroit River) by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Eph 6:10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.