Her Children Rise Up and Call Her Blessed

DSC_0914
Stacey Perkins, Scott Benson, Andrea Perkins Benson, mother: Jackie Perkins and Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III on Mother’s Day 2016

 

Yesterday was Mother’s Day.  In my opinion it was perhaps the most moving Mother’s day of my career as pastor of the Plymouth United Church of Christ.  As I surveyed those who were present who were worshiping with their mother, I thought it might be interesting to call on persons who had come to church with their mother to share publicly why they love their mother.  Totally unscripted, at both worship services we experienced some of the most powerful testimonies about why we love and respect our mothers.  I was so focused on the stories I did not have much of an opportunity to look at the audience.

 I met Andrea and Stacey when they were in preschool.  Their mother had a tough time in the last years of a tough marriage.  In their remarks on Mother’s Day, they talked a little about how difficult things were without a dad in the home, yet somehow their mother was able to raise them.

 When it was over, several persons told me that there were very few dry eyes in the sanctuary.  Listening to the testimonies, I thought of the description in Proverbs 31 as to the qualities of the “Virtuous Mother.”  As you read the following scriptures about the good mother, I encourage you to ask yourself, how is my mother similar to this image of motherhood:

Proverbs 31: 25      Strength and dignity are her clothing,

and she laughs at the time to come.

26  She opens her mouth with wisdom,

and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

27  She looks well to the ways of her household,

and does not eat the bread of idleness.

28  Her children rise up and call her happy;

her husband too, and he praises her:

29  “Many women have done excellently,

but you surpass them all.”

30  Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,

but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

31  Give her a share in the fruit of her hands,

and let her works praise her in the city gates. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

 

  1. What are the best qualities you can think about your mother?
  2. What qualities do you see in your mother that the Wisdom writer sees in the “Blessed Mother”?

 

 

Prayer:

 

Lord, I thank you for all of the mothers of the world.  For every mother’s prayer for her children, I say thank you.  For the high hopes of every mother for her children, for every ounce of encouragement and discipline that our mothers have given to the children, I say thank you.  Most of all, this day I thank you for my mother’s love.  Beauty can be deceitful and charm can be vain, but this day, I thank you for the women that love the Lord.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Mike Daniels

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Pr 31:25–31). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.