DSC_0843
Mother’s Day Flower Committee: left: Gloria Cooley, Shera Byas, Alton Gunn, Lisa Biles (chair) Dr. Karen Gunn Dozier, Decie Gunn

 

At 10:30 AM this Saturday morning, a small committee of five women and one man gathered at my church to greet a delivery truck with 163 red and white geraniums.  These people comprise our Mother’s Day Flower Committee.  This small group carefully unloaded the flowers and placed them in two specially crafted “Flower trees” we use to display poinsettias at Christmas, lilies at Easter, and geraniums on Mother’s Day.

I promised Lisa Biles, the chairperson of the Mother’s Day Flower Committee that I would stop by to add my support.  I arrived just in time because they had finished arranging the trees with alternating red and white geraniums representing deceased and living mothers.  As I asked the members of the committee to stand together for a photo, I remarked to myself about the love people worldwide have for their church.  As one who serves as the pastor of a church you would expect me to love the church, and I do.  Thinking about the “Flower Committee” it reminded me that each of those individuals also loves the church.  The flowers are a current manifestation of a deeper love that transcends time.

Lining the committee up and together for a group photo to chronicle the moment, I thought of the words of David in Psalm 84, where he spoke so eloquently about his love for the house of the Lord.  David’s thoughts about the love of the laity for the temple of God is just as true today as it was over 200 years ago:

Psalm 84: 10 For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than live in the tents of wickedness. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does to “Love the House of the Lord” mean to you?
  2. Is your love of God tied to your church or place of worship?
  3. Would your love of God be the same if your church were a house, Shelter in a park, or somewhere other than a church?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I thank you for the house of worship.  I thank you for the symbols of faith.  Lord, I thank you for the quiet space of prayer.  I thank you for the people of faith who worship together.  Lord, for every prayer you have answered, I say, thank you.  For the hymns and other music that have lifted my spirit and drawn me closer to you, I say, thank you.  Your Word has challenged me to strive to lead a wholesome and self-controlled life.  The very air in your house fills me with a sense of peace and calm.  Your grace and mercy are like the midst of the morning and the stars and night.  Lord, I thank you for your house of worship.  Though Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 84:10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.