Prayer on behalf of those who serve others in Jesus Christ

DSC_0834

Today, I invited to my home for lunch, for all of the persons who volunteer at the front desk of my church through the week.   There are about 20 volunteers who help the church in this manner.   Also, in attendance where Rev. Dr. Georgia Hill, the associate minister; Regina Yopp, the secretary; and Henrietta Carson, office manager. Believe it or not, I cooked some of the meal.  Denise prepared a baked spinach, cheese and rice dish, I made fried corn, carrots in butter and brown sugar and red beans and rice.  I also made a special concoction of dark chocolate chip cherry and macadamia nut cookies. We brought in fried chicken from the Royal Barbeque.

I asked each person to share a little bit about themselves and what being a volunteer in the church means to them.  To a person, each man and woman mentioned that when they volunteer at the church, answering the phone, buzzing people into the door and assisting with the recording of financial contributions, that what they enjoyed most was gaining a sense of fulfilment in the interaction they have with both members and strangers to the church.

One of the things I have learned through the years is the importance of saying thank you to those who help the church on any level at all.  The persons who ate at my home today are persons who make it possible for the full time staff to work uninterrupted by the telephone and front door.

As I listened to our volunteers I thought to myself of Bible verses that can be used to help  our  attitude when doing something on behalf of others.  The following is  one of those verses:

 

Colossians 3: 17 And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What is most difficult when you try to “Do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus…”
  2. Why do you think Paul gave this advice to the Colossians?

 

Prayer:

Lord, grant me a spirit of fulfillment as I reach out in love to serve others.  Teach me the satisfaction of helping others with their hopes, dreams and aspirations.  Make me unashamed to follow my personal dreams, but at the same time, make me never so interested that I forget my brother and sister who are struggling to make ends meet.  Lord, I want to learn the joy that comes from attempting to do everything in your name.  Bless me with your peace.  Bless me with your power.  Bless me with your patience.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Garnett Conerway

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at http://nicholashoodiiiministrie.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Col 3:17). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.