Young Love

DSC_0817
Barbara Rose and her “Friend”

 

Saturday evening, I drove to Ann Arbor to witness the graduation from the University of Michigan of one of the young persons in my church.  Her name is Barbara Rose.  A couple of weeks ago she invited me to join her family in witnessing her graduation.  As a pastor, I am always interested and excited to be invited to life-changing events like a graduation.

I brought my camera in the hopes that I might be able to take a photo of the young woman and her family.  One thing you may not know about me is that I am a “closet” photographer.  I like to take pictures.  I am a student of taking photographs.  I had to wait to the very end of the graduation celebration to take the photo I wanted.

The first photo was of Barbara Rose and her mother, Donna.  The mother had raised her for most of her life as a single mom.  The two are close.  A few years ago, Donna got married.  The second photo I took was of the whole group which included the mother, step dad, grandmother, aunt and cousin- all in a row of support around the young graduate.  Barbara Rose then took a photo with me, the pastor.  I was starting to put the camera back in the bag when she asked if I would take a photo with her “Friend.”  My response was of course.  I did not know she had a “Friend” in attendance.  I had met the bio-dad, the aunt, the cousin, the mother and step-dad, and the grandmother.  As they posed for the photo, it was clear to me that the young man was more than a “Friend.”  She got close to him.  He got close to her and both could not stop smiling.  It was clear to me that they love each other.  One of the things I have learned over the years is to let love have its own way.  You can’t force love or dictate love.  Rather, love has a way of finding what makes sense.  As they got close to each other, I began to think about the joys of young love.

The exhilarating experience of being close to the one you love is unmatchable.  You are still getting to know each other.  There is always something to talk about.  Touch is delicious.  Dreams are precious.  Time is without end.  Your mother and father are nice, but at a certain stage of life, you are ready for a love that will take you from mother and father to a whole new level.  So, as I took the photo of Barbara Rose and her “Friend” and the body language spoke volumes about a love that was young and real.  God only knows what will come from their love, but one thing is for real, as older adults we have to know when to back off.

 

Romans 12: 10 love one another with mutual affection; outdo one another in showing honor.[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

`1. What does this text say to you about, “Young Love?”

  1. When do you think people should break off a relationship?

Prayer:

Lord, grant me passion, but also grant me common sense.  Whisper to me and let me know who you want me to give my heart.  I admit that sometimes I am confused.  Lord, I want someone who puts me first, above everyone except you.  Give me a love that is real.  Give me love I can feel.  Breathe on me and shall live.  Bless me, today.  I may be young, but I am yours.  Bless me, in Jesus name.  Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III  – Barbara Rose and “Friend”

More Prayers, Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at http://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress. com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministreis.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 12:10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.