Bring Down the Walls!

Joshua 1: No one shall be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will not fail you or forsake you.[1]

 

20160416_165811
Selea Estill, Cassandra Thomas, Chase Warren and me

 

In each of our lives there are walls and barriers that prevent us from living and leading the lives that God has ordained that we should enjoy.  Some walls are real. Others are imaginary.  Some are imposed upon us by others.  Some are imposed by ourselves.  The promise of God is to strengthen us and encourage us so we can tear down the walls that stand in our way.

This morning I will be preaching about how to tear down the walls that limit us and discourage us from being the person we could be.  The text for my sermon is taken from the story of how Joshua and his army tore down the walls of Jericho.  Jericho is real.  Your Jericho is not my Jericho and my Jericho is not your Jericho, but Jericho is real.

As I look at the young persons in the photo who are part of the High School Youth Ministry at my church, I think about all of the possibility and potential that they possess.  Yet, in each of their lives there is a Jericho- something that stands between the life they live and the life they could live.  My role as pastor is to encourage them, support them, and let them know that I believe that with the help of God they can conquer their Jericho ad live wonderful, fulfilled, great lives.  As God was with Moses and Joshua, God will also be with them.  In like manner, God through Jesus Christ will be with you.

Joshua 1: Only be strong and very courageous, being careful to act in accordance with all the law that my servant Moses commanded you; do not turn from it to the right hand or to the left, so that you may be successful wherever you go. This book of the law shall not depart out of your mouth; you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to act in accordance with all that is written in it. For then you shall make your way prosperous, and then you shall be successful. I hereby command you: Be strong and courageous; do not be frightened or dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” [2]

Prayer: 

Lord, grant me the courage to face my Jericho, dream my Jericho and overcome my Jericho.  Lord, you are my strength, my help and my ability to achieve.  Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Sharla Sullivan Hood

Additional Prayers, Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jos 1:4–5). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jos 1:7–9). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.