DSC_0604
Noah, Sharla, Nathan, Maleah and Andrew Young at the Traffic Jam and Snug in Detroit

Nathan, my eldest son, along with his wife Sharla and daughter, Maleah were the last ones to show up for lunch Saturday.  We were gathering to eat something before my dad’s funeral.  I wanted Nathan and his new nuclear family, as in three years, to meet Walt and Andrew Young.  Andrew, Walt and I go all the way back to New Orleans.  My dad was kind of a spiritual mentor to the two brothers and my mom and I were included in the package.  Because he lives near Detroit, Noah, my youngest has seen more of Andrew and Walt.  Nathan and Sharla live in California, so they do not get back this way as often.  Walt and Andrew had not met Sharla and Maleah, so I thought the funeral meal would be an opportune time for them to connect.  Because they were late, we started the meal without the newlyweds.  When they finally arrived I took a photo of them with Andrew and Walt and intentionally asked Maleah to lean on to Andrew.

Saturday, she may not have known who Andrew Young is and his role in the Civil Rights Movement, but one day when she grows up she will cherish this photo.  As I arranged the participants in the photo I thought about Jacob on his death bed and Joseph bringing his two sons to meet the grandfather they had never seen.  Jacob was old and could hardly see. He had been brought to Egypt by his other sons who years earlier had tried to kill Joseph.  As things turned out, Joseph became the secretary of agriculture and provided food for his unwitting brothers when a drought devastated Israel.  When they finally returned with Jacob, their father, it gave the old man an opportunity to meet the sons of Joseph for the first time.  As I looked at Andrew and Walt smiling at Sharla and Maleah, it reminded me of Jacob meeting his grandchildren and how good it makes the elders feel to know that life goes on.

   Genesis 48: When Israel saw Joseph’s sons, he said, “Who are these?” Joseph said to his father, “They are my sons, whom God has given me here.” And he said, “Bring them to me, please, that I may bless them.” 10 Now the eyes of Israel were dim with age, and he could not see well. So Joseph brought them near him; and he kissed them and embraced them. 11 Israel said to Joseph, “I did not expect to see your face; and here God has let me see your children also.” 12 Then Joseph removed them from his father’s knees, and he bowed himself with his face to the earth. 13 Joseph took them both, Ephraim in his right hand toward Israel’s left, and Manasseh in his left hand toward Israel’s right, and brought them near him[1]

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers, Photos and Meditations written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III can be found at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ge 48:8–13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.