Lord, Change My Circumstance!

DSC_5655
My father, Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood Sr. (right) at the wedding of my son, Nathan in 2013

I went to see my father this evening.  He is in the hospital with multiple health challenges.  I asked him how he was feeling.  His reply was a prayer that the Lord might change his circumstance.  Circumstance – I would not normally use that word to express my condition or situation.  Circumstance is such a dignified word which hearkens to another time and space.  Lord, change my circumstance!

I told my dad that I asked the church to sing the song he and I sang Thursday evening – “Softly and tenderly Jesus is calling, calling for you and for me…”

  1. Softly and tenderly Jesus is calling, calling for you and for me; see, on the portals he’s waiting and watching, watching for you and for me. Refrain: Come home, come home; ye who are weary come home; earnestly, tenderly, Jesus is calling, calling, O sinner, come home! 2. Why should we tarry when Jesus is pleading, pleading for you and for me? Why should we linger and heed not his mercies, mercies for you and for me? (Refrain) 3. Time is now fleeting, the moments are passing, passing from you and from me; shadows are gathering, deathbeds are coming, coming for you and for me. (Refrain) 4. O for the wonderful love he has promised, promised for you and for me! Though we have sinned, he has mercy and pardon, pardon for you and for me.

My visit was brief.  He seemed to like it when I told him that after the pastoral prayer I played “Softly and tenderly” on the harmonica.  Next, I asked the congregation to sing “Softly and Tenderly” with me.  Then, we sang, “There’s a blessing in this house and its waiting on you.”  I asked my dad if I could pray with him.  The prayer I prayed centered on his expression, “Lord, change my circumstance.”  As I prayed my prayer I began to think about the importance of intercessory prayer.

Intercessory prayer is one of five elements of prayer: Praise, Confession of Sin, Thanksgiving, Intercession and Supplication.  Prayers of intercession are those prayers that God might do something we cannot do for ourselves or for someone else.  A prayer of intercession is a humbling prayer because at its core there is an acknowledgment that we as human beings are not totally in control of our bodies or space.  We like to think we are in control, but illness is one of those situations that reminds us that we are not in total control of our bodies.

I ask your prayers for my father and all of the people throughout the world who are struggling with a health challenge.  I ask that you ask the Lord to, “Change the circumstance” for those who are ill, in discomfort, and struggling for life.”  If God could turn back the clock for King Hezekiah and grant him an extension on his life, surely God can do that for you and for me.

 

2 Kings 20 In those days Hezekiah became sick and was at the point of death. The prophet Isaiah son of Amoz came to him, and said to him, “Thus says the Lord: Set your house in order, for you shall die; you shall not recover.” Then Hezekiah turned his face to the wall and prayed to the Lord: “Remember now, O Lord, I implore you, how I have walked before you in faithfulness with a whole heart, and have done what is good in your sight.” Hezekiah wept bitterly[1]

Prayer:  Lord, I pray today that you might change my circumstance.  Where I am sick, grant me your healing.  Where I am lonely, grant me quality companionship and friendship.  In my poverty, grant me prosperity.  Change my circumstance, Lord, and make me happy!  Change my circumstance and grant me love.  Change my circumstance and take away my addictions.  Change my circumstance, Lord and grant me your peace.  Elevate my thoughts.  Elevate my behavior.  Elevate my self-confidence.  Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (2 Ki 20:1–3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.