Raised in Christ

Signing_The_Marriage_License_063

To be “Raised in Christ” means that the believer will “Seek the things that are above.” It is easy to seek things that are “Not above.” Things that are above are positive, hopeful and uplifting. Things that are “Not above” are degrading and negative. Long before we die, the Christian has an opportunity to strive for the best life possible.

I have lived long enough to witness enormous transformation in individuals who have met the Lord in their worst moments: drowning in alcoholism; abhorrent and obnoxious in their arrogance; mean and nasty in their insecurity, but after an encounter with the Lord, their whole demeanor transformed into something nice, wholesome and pleasant to be around. The following Bible verse provides us with a challenge to rise in Christ:

Colossians 3 So if you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it mean to be “Raised in Christ”?
  2. How and when does a person know that they have been raised in Christ?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I thank you for your resurrection and the resurrection within me. Lord, your Spirit has refreshed me. I admit there is so much I could be, and what I should be, but I thank you that I am not what I used to be! You have taken me from the gutter and enabled me to walk with newness of life. You have raised me to contemplate life by consecration, grace beyond greed, mercy over mess and love that conquers laziness and lethargy. Breath on me Lord, and I shall rise. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Col 3:1). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.