Come to Me

DSC_1683
Cross and Altar – Thessaloniki, Greece

“Come to me” These three words of Jesus say so much.  Jesus beckons his followers and readers to put him first, to seek him when we are lost, follow his advice, and when we are lonely to seek his comfort.

“Come to me”.  Come if you have a problem you cannot solve.  Come if you cannot find the logic to feel better about yourself.  Come drink from that fountain that never will run dry.  Come refresh yourself from the refrigerator that never will run empty.

Some of the saddest people I have met are people who are so overwhelmed with their issues they do not give much thought to calling on the Lord.  These are the people who get into financial trouble and end up shooting themselves, or take too many pills, or kill themselves by challenging the police to kill them.

What I have found in life is that with Jesus there is always a way out.  What we do not see is that the way of the Lord is relatively easy, the rest that he offers us is complete, and his burden is light.  In all honesty, I have had a few bad moments, but not a bad life.  I have come to trust the Lord and what I have seen is a life of protection and direction, fulfilment and satisfaction.  If your life is missing the satisfaction that you seek, try these three words:  “Come to Jesus” and see watch you have been missing.

Matthew 11: 28 “Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What images comes to mind when you read the Word of Jesus to say, “Come to me”?
  2. What do these words of Jesus say to the person who is not weary or carrying heaven burdens?
  3. Why do you think Jesus said these words?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I need your rest.  Lord, I seek your peace.  The day is long, the sun is high, the night can be cold.  People are pulling on me and all I want is a little peace.  Lord, teach me to relax.  Show me how to refresh and renew Lord, I submit my focus to you.  Teach to stop tugging from within.  Teach me to humble myself.  Humble me to accept your yoke, appreciate your rest and to receive your burden.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about Nicholas Hood III Ministries at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mt 11:28–30). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.