“I Shall Dwell in the House of the Lord all the Days of My Life”

DSC_2813
Sunrise over Daytona Beach, Florida

For the past several days I have walked through the 23rd Psalm, one verse at a time.  Some days I have broken the focus verse into two parts.  Today is my last day of looking at the 23rd Psalm and I am giving thought to the last portion of the 6th and last verse:

Psalm 23: “…and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord my whole life long.[1]

There are two ways this verse can be viewed.  On the one hand it applies to the life a person is leading in the here and now.  On the other hand, it speaks to life in the hear-after, the life to come in God’s eternal kingdom.  “I shall dwell in the house of the Lord, all the days of my life.”  If a person “Dwells in the house of the Lord,” it means that David wants to live a life according to the values and principals of Jesus Christ, in this life.  I think that to “Dwell in the house of the Lord,” also could be interpreted that everlasting life is the ultimate promise of salvation for a life of faithful service to Jesus Christ.

As you plan your day and live your life, what does it mean to you to “Dwell in the house of the Lord”?  Does this mean dwelling in the bosom of Jesus principals in this life?  Does is mean that you hope to bask in the salvation of Jesus Christ heaven?  Or, does it mean both?

What I want is both.  I want the best life in this life.  I also want and believe in the assurance of pardon for sins and eternal life in that kingdom which has no end.  Let us now take another look at the entire 23rd Psalm and watch how it rises to a dramatic conclusion with the hope of dwelling in the house of the Lord.

Psalm 23

The Divine Shepherd

A Psalm of David.

1     The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.

2        He makes me lie down in green pastures;

he leads me beside still waters;

3        he restores my soul.

He leads me in right paths

for his name’s sake.

4     Even though I walk through the darkest valley,

I fear no evil;

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff—

they comfort me.

5     You prepare a table before me

in the presence of my enemies;

you anoint my head with oil;

my cup overflows.

6     Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me

all the days of my life,

and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord

my whole life long.[2]

 

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does “I shall dwell in the house of the Lord” mean to you?
  2. How do you see “I shall dwell in the house of the Lord” could apply to this life and the life to come?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I want to dwell in your house.  Lord, I want your Spirit to direct my life in this world and the life to come.  Consume me with your presence.  Drench me with a desire to devote my life to the guiding principles of faithful service to you.  Lord, I want to be with you every day of my life and even then into the afterlife.  When my life is over and I have sung my last song, preached my last sermon, held hands for the last time, kissed by last kiss, given my last dime to the poor, and there is nothing left for me to do, lay me gently to sleep and take me to that kingdom which has no end, and led me dwell in your house forever more.  Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry of Nicholas Hood III at www.

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 23:6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 23). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.