You Anoint My Head with Oil

Signing_The_Marriage_License_063
Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III – signing a marriage license after a wedding

While he was still a youth, Samuel the priest anointed David the second king of Israel.  Years earlier, the same priest, Samuel, anointed Saul to be the first king of Israel.  What is the significance of being anointed?  Samuel anointed both men with oil.  The pouring of oil on the heads of future kings was not good luck, it was a blessing.  Anointment was the priest/prophet Samuel’s way of invoking the blessing of God upon both men.  Anointment represented the symbolic protection of God upon the future kings.  Pouring the oil of anointment symbolically was a way of praying that divine guidance would provide leadership and direction to the future kings.

The anointing of Saul and David certainly was a blessing to the two young men.  I maintain that there is also a blessing in store for the one who does the anointing.  We receive as we give to others and learn as we teach.  So often in life you will find self-centered, self-absorbed people who try to hold on to their blessings as the expense of sharing with others.  What we often miss is that something spiritual happens when we bless others.  David and Saul were blessed through anointing, but Samuel himself is made stronger, wiser and more confident in his faith because he poured the oil of anointing upon the young leaders of his day.

Psalms 23: you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What would you say is a modern day parallel to having “You anoint my head with oil?”
  2. What is the blessing that the person who “Anoints” another person?

 

Prayer:

Anoint me, Lord, anoint me with your oil of blessing!  I pray to you for wisdom, anoint me with direction and guidance.  I confess to you my sins, anoint me with your mercy and grace.  I utter prayers of intercession.  Anoint me now Lord.  Step down from the ceiling of eternity.  Come out from the wings that drape the stage of salvation.  Anoint me with encouragement.  Anoint me with inner peace.  Anoint me with the confidence that all things are possible with you.  In like manner, grant me the presence of mind to anoint the weak, anoint those who are strong and to anoint the lost.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 23:5). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.