“For Thou Art with Me”

DSC_1674
Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III preaching at the City of Refuge Church in Oakland, California

 

 

Yesterday I wrote about “Walking into the Lion’s Den.”  Today, I write about the words of David that even when walking through the valley of the shadow of death, “You are with me.”  Think for a moment of the significance of that affirmation- “You are with me.”

God is with you means that we are never alone.  Second, God knows exactly what you are going through.  Third, God being with you means that God not only is aware of what you are experiencing, but God will advocate and fight for you.  The history of God is a history of fighting on behalf of the oppressed who are “Walking through the valley of the shadow of death”: the release from Egypt; the release from Babylon; the protection of David from Saul and various enemies of the Hebrew people; the protection of Hagar and Ishmael and others; the promise of support for the widow, the orphan and the poor.

I do not have to have God do everything for me.  What I do resonate with is that God is on my side.  If the battle is too long, the opponent too strong, what I have is the assurance that God is with me, understands me, is for me, and will help me- “For thou art with me.”

Psalm 23: 4  Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no evil; for you are with me; your rod and your staff— they comfort me. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. In what ways do you feel the presence of God in your life?
  2. What would you equate to the “Rod and staff” of God? How do they provide you with comfort?

 

Prayer:

Walk with me, Jesus.   Walk with me in my most fearful moments.  Walk with me through despair, distress and disgust.  Be my comfort.  Be my consolation.  Be my

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 23:4). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.