Put Away Your Former Way of Life

DSC_1053
Cathy and Joe from the 1st Congregational Church of Palo Alto with Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

 

In the process of becoming the best person we can be at some point we must identify and acknowledge the great gulf that separates from the life God would have us to live.  The Apostle Paul taught that we must do two things: put away the former way of life and number two: “Clothe yourselves with the new self…” which is “According to the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.”

This is much simpler to say and wish than to become a reality.  Just ask a person who wants to quit smoking.  They know the cigarettes are probably hastening their decline and life expectancy, but quitting can seem impossible.

The encouragement I send to those who are reading this post is that each of us might strive to live a life worthy of the high calling of Christ Jesus.  I challenge each of us to identify those things that prevent us from thinking, feeling and living like Jesus.  At the same time, I encourage you to put on a “New self” which is crafted in the image of God.

Ephesians 4: 22 You were taught to put away your former way of life, your old self, corrupt and deluded by its lusts, 23 and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, 24 and to clothe yourselves with the new self, created according to the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Name two or three challenges to “Putting away your former way of life?”
  2. How can a person know when they are, “Renewed in the spirit of your mind”?

 

Prayer:

Lord, grant me the strength to recognize those things that prevent me from living the life you expect of those who live in your faith.  Cleanse my mind that I might think good and clean thoughts.  Cleanse my heart that I might feel and respond in a pure way.  Clean my hands and feet that I might live right, do right and be right in your sight.  Wash away my old way of thinking and doing and bless me to live and think in your likeness in true righteousness and holiness.  Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas  Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Eph 4:22–24). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.