Be Imitators of God

DSC_1375

Every now and then something will happen to remind you that the world is not on its way to hell in a hand basket, and when you see it you will know that where there is life there is hope.  I saw this the other day.  Denise and I attended a fourth grade Black History Month Program at the Berkeley Arts Magnet School.  We were there with our son and daughter in law to watch our granddaughter and her class.  As I watched the other parents and grandparents trip over each other to take photos and videos, the children from a wide diversity of ethnic groups and races, and the electric like energy of the youth, I was filled with a sense of peace and calm with the thought that maybe, just maybe the world would be alright.  The children laughed and played and seemed oblivious to the racial and ethnic differences, and I said to myself, “Maybe just maybe this world will survive.”

Paul wrote to the Church at Ephesus that we should “Be imitators of God, as beloved children.”  Children have a certain purity.  They say what they feel and mean what they do.  They are also great imitators.  They watch adults and imitate much of what they see.  If we curse, they will probably curse.  If we are loving and kind, they will often imitate our love and kindness.  If the adults go to church and pray, the children will often go to church and pray.  In life each of us has a choice.  We can choose God or evil.  Paul says, “Imitate God, as beloved children.”  So, this is our verse for today, “Be imitators of God.”

Ephesians 5 Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are the challenges of being an “Imitator of God”?
  2. What does this text tell you about the Christian life?

 

Prayer:

Lord, grant me the strength and courage to imitate you.  When the choice looms before me and my attention is swayed, teach me to choose you and not evil.  Lord, I want to be more like you: in every way, each and every day.  I cannot see the end.  Sometimes I do not understand your will, but in my heart I know you love me and care for me and that is all I need.  So, today, I choose you.  I choose your values.  I choose your laws.  Most of all, I choose your love.  Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Eph 5:1). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.