The Purpose of the Lord Will be Established

DSC_1336
Rendell Thomas explaining the roll of aging wine

 

Yesterday, Denise, her mother and I had lunch with former Detroiters, Dr. Tina Mason and Rendell Thomas.  When they were in Detroit, Rendell was a television director at WDIV.  Tina was and is a celebrated physician.  After a long stint in New York and a shorter time in Milwaukee, they have relocated to Napa, California.   Twenty years ago I performed their marriage and they still seem happy with each other. Tina is still healing the sick, but Rendell has made the shift from television to working as a wine expert at Robert Mondavi Winery.  Although it was his day off, Rendell gave us a private, guided tour of the vineyards and winery.  It was clear that he is quite knowledgeable about wine and all the staff seemed to know and respect him.

As we toured the spacious grounds of the winery I kept flashing back to what Rendell DSC_1344was like when he was a television director in Detroit.  He was self-assured, confident, and very much in charge.  He was an expert in what he did.  I met him at the television station because I often hosted a public service show for the Christian Communication Council called, “Open Doors.”  I learned a lot about the power of television from that experience, but I also learned a lot from Rendell.  He let me know that it was my show and I could produce it any way I desired.  If I wanted to use the grand piano that the television station had on its side, hanging on a wall with the legs removed for storage, it was ok.  If I wanted to bring a choir or dancers, it was ok.  If any of the people who were there to provide assistance grumbled or moved too slow in accommodating me, Rendell would start yelling and threaten them.  I would look at him and smile and think to myself, “I do not think I have ever heard a black man yell at white men and threaten them in a professional setting.”  It was oddly strange, but refreshing.  Rendell knew his authority and the limits of that authority.

DSC_1361

To see Rendell now as a wine expert in a major role at a major vineyard is a reminder that the purpose God has for each of us evolves on a daily basis.  The things we think are important may be quite important, but If the Lord has something ng else in mind, ultimately we either bow down and follow the will of God, or we spend a life time struggling and tugging in another direction.  As we were leaving the winery, I asked one of the employees there how Rendell was doing.  He replied, “He is the best.  Rendell knows more about wine than all of the staff and everyone loves him.”  As I think about the transition Rendell has made, I think about purpose and will and the role that God plays in each of our lives to help us find that special thing that gives life meaning and purpose.

DSC_1348

Proverbs 19: 21      The human mind may devise many plans, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will be established. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about the role of God in helping you to find your purpose?
  2. What is the outcome when our human plans stray from the plan of God?
  3. If God has a plan for your life, what is the purpose of human will?
  4. Have you found your purpose in life? If not, why not?
  5. Have you ever run in a different direction from what God put before you?

 

Prayer:

God, help me to find my purpose.  Show me what you would have me to do with my life.  Grant me a creative spirit, but also a compliant spirit.  Make me independent, but humble enough to work with others and to follow your direction.  Teach me to be unashamed to dream and humble enough to accept your will.  Bless me and keep me always in your care.  Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray.  Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Pr 19:21). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.